CA Day celebration 2024 Easy Office

Profession

18 July 2009 Q1)If an assessee is an actor by profession and he has to commute to the place of shooting and has to even bear cost of rent & deposit for staying as paying guest then can these all expenses of:

[i] Rent
[ii] Conveyance
[iii]Deposit

be claimed as deduction?

Please also guide as to which documents are to be attached as supportings to claim these expenses?

Q2) What will be due dates for filing the return for the given two assessees?
[i] Income earned as commission
[ii]Acting Profession

Please also state the ITR forms for each of the assessees?

Thanx in advance......

18 July 2009 Rent and conveyance can be claimed as expenses incurred to earn the professional income. If the deposit is refundable, cannot claim as the said expenses otherwise can claim. Documents to be preserved,not to submit along with return form, are for rent rent receipt, for conveyance bus ticket/train ticket/air ticket/ taxi bill/petrol bills if vehicle is owned by the actor.

Cut off date for filing the return of income in the case of commission is, if the gross receipts is < Rs 40/-lakhs per annum 31/7/2009 otherwise 30/9/2009. Similarly for acting profession if the gross receipts is < Rs 10/- lakhs per annum cut off date is 31/7/2009 otherwise 30/9/2009.

In both cases ITR-4 is required.

18 July 2009 Thank you sir....

Please also guide me that for assessee in acting profession does he need to prepare Balance sheet & P&L ?

and also what will be the different components of Balance sheet for such an assessee?

18 July 2009 Acting (film artist) is a profession vide CBDT Notification No SO 17(E) dated 12/01/1977.Accordingly section 44AA of the Income tax act,1961 applies to film actor leading to preparation of B/S and I& E statements.

19 July 2009 Any one doing Business or in Profession needs to keep Books of Accounts and prepare Balance sheets