Experts Query Daily Digest :22 June 2026

22 June 2026 at 14:20
Posted On : 22 June 2026

Is it compulsory to File 10E if Income including Pension Arrears is below 12 Lakh for the F Y 25 26

Dear All

One of my relative is retired and received the pension arrears as mentioned below in the F Y 25 26

Particular Amount
Interest From Saving Account 178.00
Interest From Fixed Deposit 1,65,481.00
Pension for F Y 25 26 1,01,256.00
Total Income for F Y 25 26 2,66,915.00

Pension Arears rec for F Y 20 21 TO F Y 24 25 (5 Years) 8,76,200.00

Total Income with Arrears for Current Year 11,43,115.00

TDS Deducted on Rs. 876200/- 87,620.00

Total Income is still below 12 lakh.

my query is whether we have to file 10E for Arrears received or can we file ITR without filing 10E for the F Y 25 26.

Thanks in Advance

22 June 2026 at 12:46

Suggestions required for income tax filing-software (FY 2025-26)

Hi everyone,
Please give suggestions on what income tax filing-software to be used for filing personal income tax returns for financial year 2025-26.
I have previously used ClearTax and TaxCloudIndia for filing personal income tax returns. Since TaxCloudIndia has been discontinued, I am looking for similar, budget-friendly, and user-friendly alternative to manage income tax returns for the financial year 2025-26.
I am specifically looking for a platform that meets the following criteria:
• Complex ITR filings - Able to handle complex ITR filings (multiple income streams) efficiently.
• Technical Support: Excellent customer service with quick resolution times. I have had poor experiences with 'expert-assisted' models in the past where the support staff lacked the necessary technical expertise for complex cases, so I prefer a platform that offers robust, knowledgeable technical support.
I would appreciate suggestions for income tax filing-software that offers a smooth workflow and reliable backend support.
Thank you in advance for your recommendations.

22 June 2026 at 12:45

Tax liability on income of freelancer

Sir, my son has income of Rs. 10 lacs from aboard as a freelance job on contract basis plus 7 lacs income from salary earned in India.
He is providing service as a healthcare and setting their client health claim. Whether all the amount is taxable of freelancer or 50 percent will be counted for tax purpose. No books maintain.

22 June 2026 at 12:44

Taxation on LTCG for property sold after 24JUL2024

For FY2025-26
I sold my residential property for a consideration of 100,00,000 (1 Cr) on 01/07/2025.
The purchase cost of this property was Rs 20,00,000 in Year 2008-09.
Indexed cost of this property is approx. 60,00,000

Thus LTCG after indexation was approx 40,00,000 (100,00,000-60,00,000)

After the sale, I purchased another residential property on 01/09/2025 for a price of 41,00,000 (all inclusive) to take benefit under section 54

Thus my indexd LTCG after section 54 should be 0 (40,00,000 -41,00,000). and I am being charged zero LTCG tax (the lower of CG tax of the two options (12.5% without indexation and 20% with indexation))
My income from other sources was 25,00,000 during the year
However, while calculating my final tax liability, the portal adds the unindexed LT capital gain of Rs 40,00,000 to my other sources income of 25,00,000 and puts my taxable income as 65,00,000 which triggers the surcharge at 10%. is this surcharge correct? is this the intent of indexation relief given by govt on july/aug 2024?

22 June 2026 at 14:22

Sales amount in Gstr1

I have put less Sales amount in Gstr1 of April-26 by mistaken, paid gst also filed 3B with same amount, I came to know about this mistake after May Gstr1 was filed, now Gstr3b is pending to file. Kindly suggest what amounts I should put in In May Gstr3B to solve this issue. Regards in Advance

Is E Way Bill Valid If Transport ID Not Mentioned in PART A But Vehicle details mentioned in PART B

Dear Sir

In an E-Way Bill, the Vehicle Number has been updated and is available in Part-B; however, the Transporter ID (TRANSIN) has not been mentioned. In such a case, will the E-Way Bill be considered valid under GST provisions? Please share the relevant GST Rule/Notification supporting the view.

Section 43B(h) – MSME Invoice Paid Before Year End but After 45 Days

Dear Expert,

I seek clarification regarding the applicability of Section 43B(h) of the Income Tax Act.

Facts:

I am a proprietor carrying on business under the name Lotus Fibre.
Purchases were made from suppliers registered as Micro/Small Enterprises (MSEs) under the MSMED Act.
Certain invoices were raised during April 2026.
The payments were not made within the MSMED prescribed period of 45 days.
However, the payments were actually made during December 2026, i.e., before 31 March 2027 and within the same financial year.
My Chartered Accountant has disallowed these expenses under Section 43B(h) and added them back to taxable income.

My query is:

Where an MSME invoice is paid after the prescribed MSMED period but before the end of the same financial year, is the expenditure allowable as deduction in that financial year or is it required to be disallowed under Section 43B(h)?

I would appreciate guidance on:

The correct interpretation of Section 43B(h).
Whether payment before 31 March allows deduction.
Relevant CBDT Circulars, judicial precedents, tribunal rulings, or professional guidance supporting the view.
Whether there are divergent views being followed in practice.

Thank you for your guidance.

Suresh Gupta
Proprietor – Lotus Fibre

ARTICLESHIP 20 June 2026
Articleship