Sunil Joshi

I wish to know how to set off LTCG against LTCL for Debt and Equity Mutual Fund Units.

All the units both debt and Equity category were bought more than 3 years ago. (But No grandfathering) So 20% tax after indexation is still applicable for the debt funds, as bought before 1/04/2023 and sold now.

1)  If I sell Debt MF after 3 years' holding and incur LTCL after indexation. (bought 4 years back)

2) Also, if I sell my Equity Mutual Fund units after 1 year holding and incur LTCG. Can I set off LTCL from debt fund mentioned in item 1, against the LTCG from the sell of Equity fund? If the LTCL is more than the LTCG, then can I carry forward the LTCL for next 8 years? If the LTCG happens to be more than the LTCL, then the net remaining LTCG is taxable (amount greater than Rs 1lahk), at the rate of 10%, am I right? Next case,

3) I incur LTCG from the sell of Debt Mutual Fund units after indexation after three years.

4) I incur LTCL from the sell of my Equity Mutual Fund units after one year.  Can I set off LTCL from Equity fund mentioned in item 3, against the LTCG from the sell of Debt fund? If the net result is LTCG from the Debt Fund, will it be taxed at the rate of 20%? Please let me know.

My point is, even though the tax treatment of LTCG/LTCL from the sell of Debt and Equity Funds are different, they still can be set off against each other? The net LTCG after set off, is from Debt fund, can it still get Rs. 1 lakh exemption from tax?

Sunil Joshi

suniljoshi2005 @ gmail.com

Santosh Anandrao Patil
15 September 2023 at 11:29

Place of supply in GST IN INVOICE

We are registered in Maharashtra and We are supplying the material in Andhra Pradesh, but buyer is in Gujarat.

We have raise the invoice in Buyer Name in Gujarat and Supply to third party in Andhra pradesh.

while preparing the E invoice, it is asking the place of supply.

kindly guide in our case which state will be the place of supply i.e. Gujarat or Andhra Pradesh.

Thanks in advance.

Arun Kumar

What is the difference between accounts payable and sundry creditors and how their treatment done

PARAS CHHAJEDpro badge online
15 September 2023 at 11:05

LAND SOLD PAYMENT NOT RECEIVED

A piece of diverted land was sold and sale deed was registered wherein it is mentioned that the payment will be made in three instalments and accordingly post dated cheques were issued . First instalment cheque was cleared and other two instalment cheques got bounced . Based on the registered sale deed the purchaser got his name entered in the land records

What remedies are available to the seller against the purchaser. Please guide. Thanks

Vikas Gupta
15 September 2023 at 10:56

Grossing up Indicator in Form 27Q

There is new column inserted "Grossing up indicator" in new TDS return template of Form 27Q for FY 2023-24. Please explain when to mark it "Yes" and when "No"?

Also, please explain whether we need to fill any such information while filing Form 15CB? Currently there is an option namely "In case the remittance is net of taxes, whether tax payable has been grossed up (Yes/No)". Is there any relation of this point to "Grossing up indicator" in Form 27Q.

Chandra Kala
14 September 2023 at 18:39

Deduction u/s 80P(2)(a)(i) of the IT Act

Cooperative society which are subject to audit as per Cooperative Act can submit return after 31/07/2023 to claim deduction u/s 80P(2)(a)(i) of the IT Act if Turnover is not subject to tax audit. Audit report of the cooperative Act cannot be uploaded for want of provision in IT portal.

CHANDRAKALA

Donations received by cash more than 2000/- from each person can be used for application of income otherwise taxable in the case of society registered u/s 12AB
Whether such receipt as a income which can be set of against expenditure by filing return of income in ITR-5

Sameer Kumar
14 September 2023 at 17:39

Income tax outstanding demand 23-23

I have filed a return on 31.07.2023 and e verify it on 12.09.2023 . It dept. Sent notice u/s 143(1) outstanding demand of rs 1000 sec 234f . Is it correct?

Vijai Bagaria
14 September 2023 at 17:11

Schedule IXD od BPT Act

Is it required to fill a form SCHEDULE IX-D, If the Trust doesn't have Registration No. u/s 12AA of Income Tax Act (43 of 1961)..??

Read more at: https://www.caclubindia.com/experts/details.asp?mod_id=2765349

jayesh khokhariya
14 September 2023 at 17:09

Interest to partner on capital

Interest on Capital to partner should authorize by partnership deed to pay interest to partner or we can pay @12% P.A. even if it is not mentioned in Partnership Deed.