Capital gain - Purchase of plot and construction

04 July 2023 Dear Sir / Madam,

My query is as follows:

Mr A sold his flat and had capital gain. He purchased a plot at his native and started construction of a house on it.
Will this be eligible for exception u/s 54, as he purchased a plot and then constructing the house?

Kindly guide.
Suraj

04 July 2023 Yes, eligible if all other conditions are satisfied as per sec. 54F IT act.

04 July 2023 Sir, section 54 would be applicable na???? ...as flat being residential unit is sold and land plot is purchased and the new house is being constructed ....

04 July 2023 Yes, I initially read that you sold plot.
When HP sold, sec. 54 IT act will be applicable.

05 July 2023 Sir, the person has first bought the plot of land and then started construction of the house, would then also exemption u/s 54 be available???

05 July 2023 Yes, house has to be constructed within 3 years from the date of sale of old house property.
Till such time the LT CG amount from the house sold, has to be parked in CGAS. 1988 account of any public sector bank, from where he can utilize the funds for construction of new house.

06 July 2023 Thank You Rambhia Sir!!

06 July 2023 Most welcome.

07 July 2023 Sir, if only plot of land is purchased and no construction is carried out nor any plans to carry out any construction of the house, then exemption u/s 54 wont be available to Mr A .... right????

07 July 2023 Correct. A house property is must to claim any exemption, be purchase or constructed.

08 July 2023 Sir,
In present case, the property was sold on 23-3-2023 and capital gain of Rs. 850000/- arose. The Mr A made following date wise payments:
12/12/2022 Rs. 1000 for plot purchase
13/12/2022 Rs. 50000 for plot purchase
06/03/2023 Rs. 180000 for plot purchase
06/03/2023 Rs. 370000 for construction
02/04/2023 Rs. 400000 for construction
Thus totalling to Rs. 10,01,000/- so while filing ITR for FY 2022-23, can Mr A claim entire 10,01,000/- as exemption against this capital gain of Rs. 850,000/- , though some payments were made before the sale agreement?

Kindly guide,
Suraj

08 July 2023 It is debatable issue. Some professional only accept the expenses incurred after sell of the original asset for exemption. There by Rs. 4 lakhs and any other after that till 3 years are allowed u/s. 54. While some professional consider all the expenses from 1 year before to the completion within 3 years as deduction if the house gets completed within 3 years of sell of original asset.

09 July 2023 Dear Sir,
I found this in Taxguru site:
https://taxguru.in/income-tax/section-54-land-value-includible-cost-residential-house.html
It was argued that the start of construction before the date of sale of property is not the criteria u/s 54 but the completion of the construction of new proeprty should be done within 3 years from the date of sale of old property, so the construction expenses incurred even before the date of sale of old property is allowed.
Sir, request you to got through the link and guide.
Suraj

09 July 2023 My dear, already considered it in second option ... "... If house gets completed within 3 years from sell of original asset." I said it is debatable, there are both views prevalent, you may choose at your own discretion.

09 July 2023 Thank you Rambhia Sir for patiently answering my queries....

09 July 2023 Good luck..