Poonawalla fincorps

Itr 1..mismatch of tds amount in form & 26 as

06 June 2014 i have a query related to mismatch of tds amount in form 16 issued by employer and 26AS.I am to file someone' salary return.He is a govt. employee.The tds amount being shown in form 16 is 18199 and the amount being shown in 26AS is 13199.His Salary income is less than 5 lac.but he wants to get his return filed.So tell me which amount should i fill in itr -1 in tds column. or should we ask the deductor about the tds amount being shown less in AS.

please reply ASAP.

07 June 2014 First of all, Filing of Income tax return is mandatory Even though Salary is less than 5 lakhs,

In a circular issued on 22 July, the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) stated that from assessment year 2013-14 individuals earning up to Rs.5 lakh will also have to file income-tax returns (ITR).
For the difference in Form16 and 26AS ask your deductor
possible reasons
1)your deductor issued manual prepared form 16 and not the one which is generated from TRACES website

2)Your employer may not filed Q4 tds return properly
Just settle the issue with your deductor

07 June 2014 TDS certificate supersedes form 26AS in case of variation between the two.

Assessee, by furnishing TDS certificates bearing full details of tax deducted at source, had discharged primary onus on it towards claiming credit in respect of tax so deducted

07 June 2014 thanks.....

07 June 2014

07 June 2014 HEY...thanks...but what if my deductor has not filed the return...and in that case which figure i should pick...amount being shown in form 16 or the one in 26 as.

07 June 2014 just a question. How will Form 16 generate if tds return has not been filed?

07 June 2014 its the manual 16 form..not generated through traces.

07 June 2014 Better cross check form16manual with your pay slips
from there you can see how much tds was deducted from your pay
however i recommend you to wait for some time you have time to file tds return upto 31st july

if he is not providing details by that time you file return with details from your payslip,,meanwhile if he issued TRACES form 16 go ahead with it
your employer will be punishible for not issuing tds certificates from TRACES

07 June 2014 please note manual form 16 are not legal now. the deductor is required to provide Form 16 downloaded from traces website.