Enhancing career post qualification

09 January 2013 Dear All,

First of all, wishing everybody a happy new year!
I would like to invite suggestions about what to study after completing CA.
I completed my CA in May 2011 and am employed in an MNC since one year taking care of all the work relating to our field including direct liaisoning with our consultant Big 4 audit and taxation team, taking care of accounts, legal compliances e.g. RBI reporting and so on. I am happy with my role since i'm at the helm of all core finance and accounts affairs. But i'm not in a managerial designation, neither am i getting a good compensation.
I would like to advance my career.
Planning for further studies seems a good choice since the job market is down.
The two options that come up instantly are MBA and CFA.
But i'm confused as to what i should pursue - either of these or something else?
Kindly request all the knowledgeable experts here to guide me as my career right now is in a shambles.
If i stay at the same organisation i will no doubt have this nice position but advancement both in terms of designation and remuneration will be very slow.

Best regards

10 January 2013 I think you should go for CFA instead of MBA for the simple reason that CFA is a correspondence course (International CFA) and for MBA you will have to leave your office for at least couple of years. Doing CFA makes more sense.

10 January 2013 Thanks for your response sir.
But i've heard that there are hardly any good institutes for doing international CFA in India.
Also, is there any way to compare the future after doing CFA and/or MBA. CFA is another chartered degree but MBA is more about general business.
If i get through into some good B-School i won't mind spending time away from office.
But i don't want to spend my resources (both time and money) doing an MBA and then have my career suffer by a sudden reduced demand for MBAs.
Please advise.
Thanks again!

10 January 2013 If you can leave your office for couple of years then doing MBA makes sense. International CFA is a US degree, its recognition is global. You just have to enroll yourself and the study materials will be delivered at your place and you've got to give exams. Institute part does not come into the picture. But since you can leave office i would advise you to go for MBA.

11 January 2013 I am really confused about this.
Leaving a position like this is also not in my best interest.

11 January 2013 You've got to make a decision thinking the long term prospective in mind. You might get a better placement and a better package if you complete your MBA. If you don't want to leave this then go for international CFA. You will have an international degree without leaving your job and should get a hike in salary as well.