Aditya M

This is with regard to the availabity of CENVAT Credit on the service tax paid by a corporation on availing the service of a transporter of goods by road.. Cen credit be taken? Since the manufacturer is required to file the Service Tax, will he be able to get credit for it as an input? This is with regard to transportation from the factory to the clearing agent. I am aware that no credit may be taken for outward transpotation from the clearing agent to the customer. Thank You..

yogesh bhanushali

29 February 2008 at 14:23

Registration

can anyone tell me about on what basis the registration for Service tax is required ?
Whether on receipt of Rs.8 lakh ( now 10lakh)or billing of Re.8 lakh ?
i am giving the following cases on which i required the explanation

1) when in 1st year of business billing is done of Rs. 6 lakh & collection of Rs. 1 lakh only & in 2ed year billing is of Rs. 5 lakh & collection of 9lakh , out of which 5 lakh belongs to 1st year services & 4 lakh for the 2ed services
whether i am required to registered for SERvice Tax in any of the 2 year?

2) suppose in 1st year billing is done for Rs. 9Lakh & collection is NIL ?

3) Suppose in 1st year Billing is done for Rs.6Lakh & collection is of Rs. 10 Lakh out of which 4 Lakhs are received as advance ?

CA Praveen Chopra

29 February 2008 at 08:45

Service Tax paid under protest

Is there any provision in service tax law for tax paid under protest & if any,what is the procedure for it ?

siva

28 February 2008 at 16:42

ST on GTA services

we r having some transport contracts. In such contracts, contractor was asked to dump meterial form one place to another place at an avg.distance of 5KM.For this, monthly payments will be made to contractor based on daily trip sheets.Further no conignment notes will be issued bythe contractor. In this case, consignor and consignee will be the same person.

Are these type of contracts also covered under GTA Services and liable to Service Tax?

Kindly Clarify.

Aditya M

28 February 2008 at 11:56

CENVAT credit on outward transpotation

My querry is with regard to the availabilty of CENVAT credit to companies who provide outward transportation to distributors after the sale is made in their distibution centres. Can outward transportation be treated as input service? As per notification, the liability to pay service tax is on the receiver of service for goods transport by road. if the company is required to pay the service tax to the govt, can it claim input tax credit on teh service it has availed and paid tax on? If yes, how will this be taken?

sandhya
This Query has 6 replies

Can anyone tell me what procedure should we opt for taking input credit- if a service provider registered under different service & the input services taken for providing output services.because we fill seperate return for each service so Plzz tell me the procedure to take the input credit for each servic seperately.

CA. GOPAL SONIKA
This Query has 6 replies

27 February 2008 at 14:46

IMMOVABLE PROPERTY

An immovable property is being let out to a Company which in turn sublets the same to Director/Staff for residential purpose.

Now as per service tax act Immovable property is excluded from the scope of service tax if let out for residentail purpose.

Should the service tax be levied on rent paid by the company to the owner.

ramesh vadnala

27 February 2008 at 11:49

No.1/2006-Service Tax

I need clarification in notification mentioned that what are the services covers under CENVAT credit of service tax on input services as mentioned in notification.
please give me examples as much as possible

Vivek

26 February 2008 at 15:06

Efflument treatment expenses

Whether Efflument treatment expenses is covered under the service tax net?

Prakash
This Query has 6 replies

26 February 2008 at 14:55

Service Tax and VAT in same transaction ?

I know that Vat will be chargeable even if Srevice Tax is applicable in some transactions(Ex. in case of works contract). My doubt is that the act says that if the assessee takes INPUT CREDIT of VAT, he has to pay VAT separately. I dont understand this concept. Does this mean that if VAT is not charged separately, Service Tax is chargeable for cost of materials provided along with the cost for service ?