07 January 2010 at 19:17

Service Tax on Loading Unloading Charges

I have a doubt about chargability of service tax..

I have a client who is providing service for loading unloading from truck at a sugar mill and recover the charges on per bag basis from the buyer (owner of Goods) whether he is liable for service tax on such type of service any one can help me...?

Answer now

Subrahmanyam
06 January 2010 at 16:34

Accounting Entry

Can anyone pls suggest the accounting entry:

1) when the service is taken (Input) & provided (Output) on one date & the payment is made for the same on another date.

Pls suggest the entry on both the situations...

Answer now

Priya Sharma
06 January 2010 at 12:36

Reg:Service Tax treatment

One of the Service Provider has developed online cinema tickets booking services online,say A(Service Provider). Now A is providing services to Theatre B for assisting in the online booking of tickets.

The actual price of the ticket is Rs. 50/-per ticket.Now when the tickets are sold online, it costs Rs. 60/- to the viewers.This Rs.10/- is the service charge charged by A, the service provider, which is to be paid by B, the theatre owner.

Out of Rs. 10/- the Service Provider will keep Rs. 7 and give away Rs. 3 to the Theatre owner.

Rs. 3/- is in the nature of revenue sharing.

Now my query is on what amount, the Service Tax should be charged???On Rs. 7/- or on Rs. 10/-???

Kindly suggest, its urgent.

Priya Sharma

Answer now

03 January 2010 at 16:03

Import of Services

What is the applicability of Service Tax in case of Foreign Currency expenditure as being disclosed in Notes to Accounts of Auidted Accounts , whether every thing will attract service tax under the head " IMPORT OF SERVICE "

Answer now

02 January 2010 at 21:53

input of service tax

The company has not taken the input of service tax on the services taken by it during 2008-09.The service tax return has also been filed with the department. Can input of service tax be claimed in 2009-10? Please suggest. Is there will be need for filing revised return and also suggest if the original return was filed before 6 months ( i , e we will not be able to revise the return).Pls advise.

Answer now

31 December 2009 at 11:16

Exemption in service tax

I am registered for one of the service in financial year 08-09 and i had paid service tax for it, but their are few more services for which i am not registered but have receivables in those services and have not paid any services tax for them neither have i collected it, total of my all taxable services is less than Rs10.00 lac , so am i liable to pay service tax for those other services or not.Also if i am liable to pay service tax for them, what can I do now since i have already filed return for the year(it has been more than 60 days).

Answer now

satya
29 December 2009 at 13:16

Service Tax on GTA for Export Goods

Hi, All,
We are the Manufacturer Exporters and paying Service Tax on GTA for Export goods upto port. Pl.clarify as per Ntfn no.18/2009 whether we have to pay Service Tax on GTA for Export consignments or not. If paid the same can be claimed as Input Credit or we have to file refund application?

Answer now

28 December 2009 at 16:57

SERVICE TAX CHARGE ON SOFTWARE

On of my dealer from where i purchse Windows xp professional, He is charging Basic software price 7000 and service tax 721.00 and d vat 309.00 total bill value is 8029.84, is it right.

how is it possible, he was said there is some amendment in service tax/exicse due to the software is not indian and govt not getting excise duty on them so service tax charged.

Harish

Answer now

Khaleel A G
28 December 2009 at 16:00

Printing Press - Service tax, VAT or both?

a private company undertaking printing work mainly from govt bodies, for journals magazines etc.

At times, they are provided the paper/material on which the printing is required, and at times they use thier own.

now the question is :

1)when the client is giving them paper to print on, they are merely providing printing services, will VAT be attracted here? if not
will service tax be attracted?? i just saw the 80 services covered under service tax gamut, and i dont see any printing services. In case service tax is applicable, under business auxilary or under works contract, please direct me to the specific provisions and computation for my further reading and understanding.

2)when their client does not provide them paper/material, they source it themselves and give the clients the printed material.
i am pretty sure this printed material will attract 4% VAT, but is there a chance of attracting service tax too ?? if yes, then in what ratio, and how to go about the computation.

i really appreciate you going through this long querry, even if you can just point me in the right direction i will be very thankful!

Khaleel

Answer now

jinesh
22 December 2009 at 17:38

Service tax Credit

Hui

I m referring the Accounts of one Corporate Company where only Service tax Input Credit is taken. No output Service Rendered. only payment made from Corporate unit. No return Is filed for Service Tax. and how Credit can be utilised for Setoff? there is no Cenvat Credit availed? how to utilise the Credit of Service Tax.
pls xplain the Norms against which it is Utilised.thanx

Answer now