K. meharnath

Namaskaram,

I have registered and migrated under GST based on my previous VAT and service tax registrations. Earlier i used to file nill returns for service tax due to turnover less than 9 lakhs (from Service) from the past 3 financial years. Also under VAT i used to file nill returns every month based on nill turnover. Why should i be taxable just because i have migrated from the old regime (which had provision to file nill returns) tto a new regime which is supposed be more advanced and citizen friendly. This is as per FAQ 18 of the GST registration guidelines answer. Kindly reply with references of my taxation.

Ikramuddin Saifi
13 July 2017 at 14:28

Free sample

we are manufacturer of Cosmetics and i want to send some sample to our Party (A.P.) (from Delhi to Gantur (A.P.) ) through VRL Logistics, Now i want to know that what is the procedure for free sample under GST?

Ikramuddin Saifi

Srinivas Ashok
13 July 2017 at 14:08

Gst

Hello !

We are an advertising agency primarily dealing in advertisements in newspapers . I have to give you a detailed narration .I apologise for the same .

Our Business Model :

As on date , We have a turnover of Rs 50.00 crores .Our clients are basically from automobile industry. They give us the size , date . and the paper in which the ad would be published .We design the advertisement as per their requirements and send it to the respective papers for publication . After this we raise the invoice and send it to our clients. All publications give us 15 % commission on bill ,which is a an accepted norm as far as print media is concerned . Earlier ,we paid service tax on 15% commission "on the value before discount to our clients " and .
and was added invoice , collected and paid to the gvt .

Now , we are not clear as to how to bill our clients with GST .We request you to advise us on the following issues.

A) Purchase side( purchasing space in paper) :
1) Since print media is levied 5% gst ,we pay the publications( our purchase of space amount from publications) +gst (5%)
eg) If total bill our publication is Rs 100 ,then 15% is deducted as commission and we pay only the remaining Rs 85 +( 5% gst =4.25)=
85+4.25 =89.25 . Hope ,we are clear up to this .If not what is to be done

B) Sale Side( invoice)

Our billing method Before GST (With service tax)

Gross Amount Rs 100 ,say 10% our clients discount =90 = service tax 15% on 15 Rs of commission (since this is only our income ) 2.25
90+2.25 =92.25 net billed to our client

After GST Gross Amount Rs 100 ,say 10% our clients discount =90 = ( How to levy GST ) (as per the GST council Advertising agency is to pay 12%gst on space selling .and if use computers in designing it is 18% .

How to bill our client ?
1) Rs 100 +5% paid to our publications to get input credit and (Whether we should ad 12 % OR 18% of 15%) = (Rs 15 *12% =1.8) or
(Rs 15*18%=2.7 )

ie 100+5+1.8=106.28 or 100 +5 +2.7=107.7

Thanks and Regards
Ashok .p

vishal verma
13 July 2017 at 14:08

gst input credit on mobile bills

dear expert can I take input credit of mobile bills in gst plz resolve

MANOJ BAGARIA
13 July 2017 at 13:59

Resistration

When i do submit with Dsc it shows pending for validation. Than after some time it shows validation error. Please suggest what to do

vineethmohanan
13 July 2017 at 13:58

Gst

should a film producer take GST registration ..?

Ankit
13 July 2017 at 13:29

GST RATE FOR HSN CODE 8308

Sir, I want to know what is the rate of gst on goods prescribed in HSN CODE 8308.

durai suresh
13 July 2017 at 13:29

validation errors

my new get reg o1 e sign send otp registration successful but few seconds validation errors pls how to solved problem

Manoj Panjabi
13 July 2017 at 13:27

gst on mobile tower rent

co-op hsg Society maint is below 5000 pm.per flat but society receives mobile tower rent 22 lakhs per year .So we have to pay gst on mobile tower rent not on society maint from flat owners as same is below 5000/- is my view ok or any other view of experts

Ajinkya K
13 July 2017 at 13:19

Gta under GST

if my gta transporter is register under gst and I take service from him still we have to pay gst and his gst registration under Punjab nd I take service in Maharashtra what is the gst tax rate