Service Tax

29 July 2010 Sir,

I am running a company of HR Recruitment and Education consulting. I have registered for Service Tax eventhough my my service receipt is less than 10 lakh. Do I need to pay service tax? I have recipts of Rs.6 Lakh. almost 4 lakh from HR business and 2 lakh from education consulting. HR business revenues are routed through Bank account but education receipts are cash transactions. Please guide me

Thank You
Anil

29 July 2010 after registration you should collect service tax and pay to govt. exemption limit not for all year. its only for starting year. when you cross limit of exemption limit you get registered and pay service tax.

29 July 2010 Thank you Ram,

This is first year of my registration and we didnt exceed the limit of 10 lakh. We just registerd it for one client who need the service tax registration number and we have collected 7000 as service. Do I need to pay tax for all other receipts which I didnt collecet service tax?.How much percentage of tax I need to pay and what kind of receipts I can include/exclude?

Thanking you
Anil

30 July 2010 Please collect servie tax and pay to govt and submit ST3 return Half yearly.