Point of tax

13 September 2011 When is service tax to be paid?

I received advance of Rs. 1 lakh in April 11, however I would be providing services in the month of May and June.

Should I pay service tax in April or in May and June on the basis of services rendered.

Please guide.

13 September 2011 You have an option to pay either on cash basis or accrual basis till 30/06/2011. ST payment date ,therefore, depends on the method you adopt from the above two choices.

13 September 2011 You should pay service tax in the month April. For the purpose of service tax point of taxation is i.e service tax is payable on the basis of receipt either advance for the service to be provide or fee received for the service already provided. So in your case you pay service tax for the month April 11 on your advance fee amount.
Dates of payment of service tax is
for the companies monthly basis and due date is 5th(6th in case online payment) of the next month
for all others quarterly basis and due date is 5th(6th in case online payment) of the immediate month of the following month.
so for your case is it company then you have to pay service tax by 5th or 6th of May otherwise 5th or 6th of July.
OM SAI SRI SAI JAI JAI SAI

13 September 2011 Is there any penal provision (any monetary liability or criminal liability) in case the payment is made in the month of May and June.

13 September 2011 No but you have to pay interest @18% p.a. for the delay period.
OM SAI SRI SAI JAI JAI SAI.

13 September 2011 Rate of interest is not 1% per month. The correct rate is 18% per annum to be calculated for the number of days delay only.

13 September 2011 Yes, Service Tax is Payable in Month oChf April.and Interest Rate @18%as Provided by Warrier Sir Only.