How to get a good job

17 April 2012 Hello sir,
iam a ca final student i have to write ca final exam in may2012 i have confidence that i can pass the exam it is my second attempt my aim is to get a job with more than 10 lacs per anum as salary after passing ca final iam also learning sap fico course so tell me what i have to do to fulfill my aim of getting a good job among others. which knowledge i have to possess and what are the employers requirements from a freshly qualified ca so please help me iam afraid of down falling of salary packages for fresh qualified CAs

17 April 2012 If you feel opportunties not knocking your door, try some alternatives like applying for practise and taking coaching classes ; joining with a local audit firm ; doing any other value added courses etc.

Openings are always there, they just need to be properly regulated and organised regarding which our Stupid ICAI always fails ..

In today’s time ICAI membership only is not enough. For getting quick job after receiving ICAI membership following practical things are necessary:

1. More than basic understanding of accounting
2. Good knowledge of Tally, SAP, IFRS, MIS working environment.
3. Understanding of working as a finance part
4. Good and practical knowledge of Taxation
5. Positive attitude and patience.

Kindly appreciate if you are a new CA and have no knowledge of Tally or SAP or Taxation, then tell me why should I recruit you? You are good for nothing for me.

Recently we had recruited 2 people (non CA but with good knowledge of SAP and ERP) in our finance deptt. at a package of 3.6 and 4.8 lacs P.A. and both were chosen over Chartered Accountants, having no knowledge of SAP and ERP.

It is high time for us to understand the fact that membership of ICAI and ICSI is no guarantee of good job or rather I would say good paying job. So for a better career it is must to focus on good articleship.

This all fuss is created because of a bit less compensation offered to professionals. As per my experience still membership of ICAI and ICSI is a guarantee of good quality job. This job may be a less financially sound job but will surely pave way for long term financial and personal success.

So my suggestion would be along with doing CA keep learning other practical courses like tally, SAP, ERP etc and be an expert of all this for better career.

All the best

17 April 2012 Your ability, your skill and how fair you have done in interview besides your qualification and the requirement of the employer