Poonawalla fincorp

E-filing

28 May 2013 Sir, I have heard that if total income is above rs.5 Lac then it is mandatory to file e return. But when transport allowance and professional tax is deducted it comes under rs.5 Lac then please guide should i file return physically or electronically. Second thing my employer has not filed 24Q4 return as a result of which i can see that my last quarter tds not been showing in F26AS in such case also should one file electronically or one shd wait for his employer to file 24q4 then only file return electronically...pl guide

28 May 2013 You wait till your employer files tds return

advantage in e-filing is

we can file return from home

faster processing,and if any refund is there we can trace,and many more benifits also there just create your account in e-filing website and file your return..

how to do e-filing

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=byabyM4NVds&hd=1

30 May 2013 What rule says?

30 May 2013 it is not mandatory to file return iin your case if you dont have income under any other head of income and not having interst income more than 10,000
see below linked articles for more clarification

A person having total income in excess of Rs.5 lakhs shall furnish a return of income A.Y.2013-14 and subsequent years electronically

please refer
https://incometaxindiaefiling.gov.in/e-Filing/Portal/StaticPDF/Notification_No.342013.pdf

The total income (including interest income from Savings Bank) should not exceed Rs.5 lakh.

Please refer below articles for clear cut idea

http://www.gconnect.in/personal-income-tax/clarification-for-term-total-income-for-exemption-from-filing-income-tax-return.html

http://www.simpletaxindia.net/2012/02/exemption-from-income-tax-return-filing.html

04 June 2013 My query is still not resolved . My query is my total income including full transport allowance, children education allowance etc. is Rs.5.09 Lacs. Now in this income Rs.9600/- is exempted towards Transport allowance Rs.800 X 12 months. + Rs.1200/- Rs.100 x 12 months is exempted. So resultant income stands to RS.4.98 Lacs. Now in this case is it mandatory for me to file e-filing only or physical return can be allowed. please solve my query

04 June 2013 e-filing not mandatory for you as taxable salary income not exceeds 5 lakhs,

You can file physical return also

14 July 2013 It is very simple if your gross income without allowing any deduction id above 5 L then it is required to file the return online. You can claim deduction under various sections in the form which you are filing

14 July 2013 5 lakhs is caluculated after deducting Chapter VIA deductions also..not before deducting chapter VA deductions

Word used "total income" and not "gross total income"