What would be the designation of copany secretary

21 August 2012 Dear Friends .........

I am working from past five years as a Company Secretary and my HR person write only company secretary along with my name. In the same grade, other professionals get the designation of Manager.

But my HR department said that Company secretary is itself a designation. My query is as I get promoted, they should give me designation of Manager in this grade?

If it justify, pls suggest me how can I explain logic behind it to my HR dept. It is imp to get some recognition and also if we give our CV in other Company, we should write something about our position in present company.

What's your opinion?

21 August 2012 I am sorry to note that the designation 'company secretary' is not proving to be of any STATUS symbol for you. If you want to be one amogst many go for such MANAGER, or CHIEF MANAGER kind of designations.

21 August 2012 Very True Mr. Amol........

I agree with you and I also think that it is important to have some designation.

But my point is, I have to talk to my Sr. mgr HR about it. So, I am looking for some logic points to discuss with my Hr persons regarding it.

So, please suggest me something to give him a strong and valid point. He would not be interested in my status but when I logically tell him something about it, then he would consider it definitely.

21 August 2012 In all Govt, Semi Govt, Non Govt Giant Companies... this difficulty is posed by the professionals viz. lawyers (Chief Law officer say in nationalised banks) chartered accountants... Manager taxation, Finance Specialist etc..... On the similar lines, taking into account the size of your company you can have... Chief Company Secretary, VP(Company Secrtary Division) and so on.

21 August 2012 Sir, my Company is not very large and it's paid up capital is Rs. 5 crore. We don't have any separate "Secretarial Department." You gave me valid point.

Here, nothing sort out verbally, So I have to write mail to my Sr. Mgr HR and also to My CEO that there should be some designation for Company Secretary. As my CA colleagues are also in the same grade and they get the manager as a designation. In the same line, for Company Secretary, please give the similar designation to me also

What you suggest Sir?

21 August 2012 I still feel, the mere designation of "company secretary" will carry more weightage.... in common parlour.

21 August 2012 my ex boss Mr. sanjeev kapoor not only a ca but also the best consultant regarding the export import field.

in my opinion, it depands on our skill & grip on the subject .

if our grip is best in related field Not only we appoint the Company Secretary but also to Vice President of company too.

regards,

22 August 2012 Thanks Anmol ji and Ramesh ji for your response and active participation for my queries. On the basis of your replies I would look forward and would talk to my CEO.

23 August 2012 sir you are the deserve person this is subject of your deeply knowledge & a poet also said that:

कौन कहता है आसमा में सुराख़ नहीं होता ....................कौन कहता है आसमा में सुराख़ नहीं होता .............एक पत्थर तो तबियत से उछालो यारो....