Updated return filed with same income as revised return

13 July 2024 Sir
If updated return filed with same income as revised return which was processed by cpc. Additional tax under section 140b is paid Is there chance of updated return becoming invalid.

13 July 2024 At other place you said the updated return is invalidated.
When asked for the reason, you have not answered.
If you are just in doubt, let me tell you one has to verify the details in it, before commenting anything.

13 July 2024 Yes Sir I am in doubt kindly clarify

13 July 2024 What is the status of the updated return filed?
When was it filed?

13 July 2024 Sir
Updated return filed on 27th March 2024 for AY2023-2024 It is still under e verified stage not taken for processing Sir

13 July 2024 On what basis you doubt it to get invalidated?

13 July 2024 Sir
I have also filed revised return under 139 (5) on 10th December 2023 which was successfully processed by CPC. Mistakenly I filed updated return with same income as revised return with payment of Rs 5000 under 140B. Since both have same income I am fearing of Updated return becoming invalid

13 July 2024 That fear is baseless. Your updated return will also get processed in similar way as revised return. These days updated returns are getting long time to get processed. Be patient and fearless.

13 July 2024 Sir
Also I forgot to add Self assessment tax of Rs 1890 in Updated return

13 July 2024 That is not the reason for getting it invalidated. If there is any shortfall in tax liability, you will get order with the payment demand. At that juncture you can pay it. As of now you cannot do anything.

14 July 2024 I have filed three return
Original return 28th May 2023 income Rs 7.20 lakhs
First Revised return 1st Aug 2023 income Rs 9.20 lakhs
Second latest valid revised return prior to updated return 10st Dec2023 income Rs 8.20 lakh
Updated return 27th March 2024 with equal income as second latest valid revised return
income Rs 8.20 lakhs
Can updated return be invalid due to less income for FY 2022-23 Also in ITR U form it is mentioned and compared latest valid return not valid returns kindly advice

14 July 2024 1. No the first revised return gets null as second revised return was filed, which is already assessed and valid.
2. Updated return will get assessed based on your AIS report and if any tax liability arises, it will be demanded on its final assessment. It will not get invalidated based on any null revised return.