St-3 return

23 April 2016 Dear Experts,

I Made a Total ST Payment worth Rs.27,00,000 out of which Rs.5,84,605 used in filling ST-3 of April to Sept 2015. Balance Rs.21,15,395 is with me how can i adjusted this amount in ST-3 Form for Oct to March 2015 payament.

In which section i have to show the Rs 21,15,395 challan kidnly please advice on same.......

24 April 2016 My initial query would be on what basis you paid Rs.27 lakhs as Service Tax. Next under what accounting code (i.e.relevant to which service) was this amount paid? Thirdly have you paid the Swach Bharat Cess due in the said amount. SBC came into effect only on 15th November 2015.

that said, two options are open to you. The GAR - 7 challans have no period of financial year mentioned, i.e. it is never stated against which years liability the duty is paid, even though the date of payment is mentioned in the challan. You can adjust the payments as when they become due by quoting challan numbers.

The other option is to disclose the payment of tax as advance payment in Part C of the ST - 3 Return for the period October 2015 to March 2016, to the extent it is excess after adjusting the tax for the period October 2015 to March 2016. In case you have already shown the excess as tax paid in advance in your ST - 3 Return for April to September 2015 in Part C, then the same is to be appropriated. In case you have not reported the advance payment, Report the challans in Part H to correspond with the liability in Part D & G of the ST -3 Return. The excess should be reported in Part C as advance payment. In the subsequent ST - 3 Returns make the adjustments under Rule 6(1) in Part D with corresponding challan & source document entries in Part H.

26 April 2016 Sir Suresh Ramaswamy ,

Service tax is pedning of Last 2 years i made payment on lumpsum basis & I dont said that SBC is payable by me because this return is for April to Sept 2013....kindly suggest