registration under vat

05 January 2011 my client residing at Andheri
Proprietor
business : cartage refilling at railway booking centres

received tender in may 2010
raised first bill on 10 dec 2010 of Rs. 20 Lacs

Whether vat registration required ? if yes under which head? how to do vat registration ? online or physical. what document required to be submitted?. i do not have any idea about VAT.

will you pl guide me in this regard.

06 January 2011 Yes your client is liable for VAT under Work Contract. Apply for VAT Registration at early at possible as per your information only single bill or your client exeeding limit of TH TO in very first bill. You may get registration on line or off line as you wish.

09 January 2011 sir

i would like to know whether i should opt for composit scheme?

10 January 2011 In which state you are liable to register Mention it. in Compositin you have to pay 5%, 4% or 3% (What you choose) of Gross Receipts in WCT only TDS (WCT) credit allow to you. other wise 25% Labour component, Actual or maximum 15% hire charges Deduction, Actual or maximum 5% Power and Lubricants charges deduction, 100% Input VAT Credit and 100% Credit of TDS you can get. If your TO is less then 3 crore and purhcase is very low then go for Composition, otherwise maintain the record properly and for get Composition.

10 January 2011 hitenderji

query continues...

A from maharastra, not yet registered under MVAT, give subcontract of the work mentioned in 1st query for gujrat state to B registered dealer.

B raised bill on A

whether A can make payment before geting registered.

whether A is liable to deduct WCT?

WCT at what rate?