Deepak Maheshwari

22 May 2008 at 15:05

Service Tax

Dear All

One of our company executive have taken training from an institute & training fees paid by company & now as decided in between company & its 4 customers that co. executive will give training to them & cost will be borne by all of us on equally contribution. so if we (company) take money from customers than should we charge service tax on that amount or this is exempt from service tax because its not services its only cost charging from them.

Please advise

Deepak
+91-9891006006

Mateen

can any one tell me set off available for n event management co. under CENVAT credit rules 2004

sushil bajaj

19 May 2008 at 18:44

refund of service tax

Actually i am a mutual fund advisor and i am receiving commissions from a number of asset management companies of mutual fund, and while crediting commission amount they are deducting some amount of service tax on it.

actually i want to know whether i can take refund of service tax by submitting my incmetax return.

i am also working for a broing firm and getting salary.

is there some change in tax-implicatons while showing my this mutual fund income as other sources income and main stream income.

sushil bajaj

harpal singh

17 May 2008 at 16:43

WRONGLY REGISTRATION

A MAN PROVIDING THE SERVICES OF JOB WORK SINCE JULY-2007. AT THE TIME OF REGN OF SERVICE TAX HE SELECET THE SERVICE OF MAN POWER SERVICES IN FORM ST-1. NOW HE WANT TO CORRECT THE REGN. WHAT IS PROCEDURE ?. WHAT IS THE PENALTY OR IMPLICATION UNDER ACT ?. FURTHER HE HAS NOT FILED ANY SERVICE TAX RETURN.

Sai Krishna

17 May 2008 at 10:06

payment of service tax

We have raised service tax invoices on our customers, but our customers paid only value of service amount, we have not received the service tax from our customer. In this case responsibility of payment of service tax will be on whom? Service Provider or Service Receiver. If service receiver does not pay the service tax amount what should be done. Will any body clarify.

Basavaraj Baseganni

17 May 2008 at 09:58

service tax at 2%

hi,

we the contractors for telecom cabling using trenchless technology. Since from 4 to 5 years, we have been raising invoice with full rate of service tax. Now we got the work order with 2% service tax. Please let us know will it be ok if we charge service tax at 2% only based on the work order we got for doing work.

i want to know the legal aspects

Basavaraj Baseganni

hi all,

please let us know that, after the assent of the finance bill, service tax payment is on due basis like payment of sales tax and TDS and not on receipt basis.

please clarify on this?

Muthyam

16 May 2008 at 18:34

from builders service tax

Sir, we are builders, we are paying st on receipts base, then we have a problems from st department, they are asking invoice,
but we cant make the proper invoice, thats why im asking please guide me how to make the bill and tax. but we have sub contractors also that particular project in compisite scheme, and also we want make one agrement. please tell me the answer

Vivek Gupta

16 May 2008 at 14:59

Commission Agent

If a non resident commission agent is providing service of buying inputs outside India for a manufacturing company in India, whether the indian co. need to pay service tax on his behalf. In this case the service is provided outside India and is received outside india.

sheth rajesh

16 May 2008 at 12:14

construction services

my query is :

My client is providing construction service to a commercial entity under a contract. As per contract steel and cement are provided by the receiving company while other input like sand, kapachi, stone,bricks etc. are to be purchased by the service provider. My client has opt for abatment and has paid service tax on 33% of contract amount. He has not added the value of cement,seteel provided by the service receiptent . He has not claimed cenvet credit for input nor has availed benefit under notification no. 12/2003. He is thus eligible for abatement as per notification 15/2004.

The service tax department claim that as the contract is not of composite nature abatment can not be claimed and want to raise demand on 67% of contract value for the period from 1/9/2004 to 30/09/2005. They want to apply circular no. 1/2006 for the captioned period. After Oct.-05 the service provider has paid service tax on entire amount including the value of material supplied and abatement is not claimed.

KIndly guid the service tax department's propose action to disallow abatemnt for the period from 1/9/2004 to 30/9/2005 on the ground that contract is not of composite nature is justified

CA Rajesh Sheth