Avoiding Stamp Duty on sale of land?

18 August 2009 Objective:
A Company (H Ltd.) wants to sell a piece of land to Mr. X by avoiding stamp duty.

Strategy:

1.Have a Demerger and separate the land to S Ltd.
2.Purchase consideration - shares of S Ltd. to H Ltd.
3.S Ltd. becomes a 100% subsidiary of H Ltd.
4.Transfer the shares of S Ltd. to Mr. X from H Ltd.

Assumption:

All the companies are private companies.

Advice required:

1. What are all the legal intricacies from Income Tax Act and Companies Act in this case

2. Is the strategy ok ?

Kindly suggest.

thanks in advance,
Arul.

18 August 2009 a company wants to increase its authorised capital from 1 lac to 1 crore.wat will be the final fees payable to registrar.

18 August 2009 Hi Geet,

Roc fee applicable in your case is Rs. 1,52,000.

PLease find below the link of ROC fee calculator:

http://mca.gov.in/DCAPortalWeb/dca/enquireFeeActionWithoutLogin.do?method=NoneFormFeeSelection&sessioncheck=yes

Select form-5 and proceed...

18 August 2009 Hi Geet,

Roc fee applicable in your case is Rs. 1,52,000.

PLease find below the link of ROC fee calculator:

http://mca.gov.in/DCAPortalWeb/dca/enquireFeeActionWithoutLogin.do?method=NoneFormFeeSelection&sessioncheck=yes

Select form-5 and proceed...

21 August 2009 If you find any problem please let me know.

20 September 2009 Roc fee applicable in your case is Rs. 1,52,000.