Ssp exemption vs cenvat credit

05 January 2013 DEAR SIR

PLEASE CLARIFY THE FOLLOWING

IS IT BETTER TO OPT FOR SSP EXEMPTION OR CENVAT CREDIT AVAILMENT

05 January 2013 Dear Naveen,

It depends upon case to case. If you can take the input credit and get it adjusted with your output liability then there is no problem in not availing the SSI exemption. By not taking the SSI exemption ultimately your cost will get reduced because you can take the service tax paid as credit another wise it will become your cost.

CA JAYANT BOTHRA
M: 9911-550-210

06 January 2013 sir thanks for quick reply

but i am asking about ssp(small service provider)exemption

07 January 2013 Dear Naveen

I do have replied for the same. The small scale service provider exemption provides you the exemption from payment of service tax upto the value of Rs. 10lakh. But by taking so you wont be allowed to take the credit of service tax paid by you and ultimately it will become the part of your cost, due to which the value of your service will be higher.

Thanks & Regds

CA JAYANT BOTHRA
M: 9911-550-210

15 January 2013 Yes I agree with the expert but if your turnover is below 10 lacs how you are covered under service tax and how you can adjust ST

18 January 2013 Dear SS Agarwal ji,

It is option for the assessee to avail this Rs. 10 lakh exemption or not. It is open for the assessee either he wants to avail the exemption or not and if he do not avails this exemption then he can take the credit of the service tax paid.

Thanks & Regds

CA JAYANT BOTHRA
M:+91 9911-550-210