Service tax paid but filling not done.

23 September 2013 Sir,

I have Service Tax registered in 2008.
From 2008 i have been paying the Service Tax regularly without any delay (On time) till March 2012 (after that till date not doing the business and haven't cancelled the registration), but at the same time haven't filed a single return till date.

Last week i got a letter from Service Tax department asking me why i haven't paid any service tax from April 2012.

My questions:
1. Is there anyway i could avoid paying penalty for late filing (If i had to pay the penalty it is roughly coming to 1.6lacs for 8 half-yearly returns.

2. Would i be eligible for the Service Tax Voluntary Compliance Encouragement Scheme.

Experts kindly help me out.

Thanks in advance.

24 September 2013 Penalty will be applicable for non-filing of service tax return. Late filing of service tax return will not be covered under the VCES scheme.

26 September 2013 Please note that upto 8.4.2011 the maximum amount of penalty was Rs. 2000.00 for delayed furnishing of return which was increased w.e.f. 8.4.2011.
As per rule 7C you may approach the superintendent to waive the penalty for non filing of the return if no amount of service tax is payable.

disclaimer- all answers are given as per the facts narrated by you. Answer may differ after study of full facts/statements/agreements etc. involved in the case

26 September 2013 Thanks Mr Arun Kumar Singh and Mr CA Suresh Jain for your replies.