Registration

12 September 2013 i want to register my self with service tax department. is there any minimum turn over required for the same. also from when does my liability of service tax stats - from the date of registration with the department (after getting registration number) or from the date of commencement of my business.

12 September 2013 What is the service to be provided by you?.

For regular services, except where abatement is permissible, 10 lacs in a year is the limit for registration with the excise dept.

After getting registration, you can start collecting service tax, avail cenvat credit etc.,immediately.

when you reach turnover of 9 lacs, apply for registration online.

13 September 2013 Respected Mr Rangaraj thank you for your response. The matter here is that supposedly I sm doing business for the last 3 years and my annualturnover is over a crore. The jobs executed fall in the service tax category but I was never asked or never felt tge need for service tax. But if I want to register now then do I have to end up paying service tax for the ladt 3 years also . Please note that I have not charged service tax in my bill during the last 3 years. Then upon the time of audit what would the department people say.

13 September 2013 Any person who provides taxable services exceeding 9 lakhs in the preceding financial year is required to register with the central excise department or service tax office having jurisdiction over the place of business or premises within 30 days from date of exceeding the taxable services.

For example: madan is getting a commercial rent of rs950000/- from all properties he is owning in Bangalore during the financial year 2008-2009.In this case since the rent is exceeding rs.900000/-.

He has to obtain a registration in service tax under renting of immovable property service, within 30 days from date of exceeding the taxable services.

His application shall be accompanied by copies of the following documents -

· Self certified copy of PAN, (where allotment is pending, copy of the application for PAN may be given).

· Copy of MOA/AOA in case of Companies

· Copy of Board Resolution in case of Companies

· Copy of Lease deed/Rental agreement of the premises

· A brief technical write up on the services provided

· Registration certificate of Partnership firm / Partnership Deed

· Copy of a valid Power of Attorney where the owner/MD/Managing Partner does not file the application

. Power of Attorney in favor of the Consultant (POA)

13 September 2013 What if I do not register myself for service rax with annual turnover above 10 lacs for service thst is not in the negative list and I register myself after 3 years. Then do I have to pay the service tax for the past three years also......

13 September 2013 Penalty provisions for not obtaining Registration – A person who is liable to pay service tax, or required to take registration, and who fails to get registration under service tax, shall be liable to pay a penalty which may extend to Rs. 10,000 or Rs. 200 for every day during which the default continues (whichever is higher), starting from the first day after the due date, till the date of actual compliance.

Penalty provisions for non – maintenance of Books – Failure to maintain books or retain the books of accounts or other documents as required shall be liable to a penalty of Rs. 10,000.

Penalty provisions for not furnishing information required – If a person fails to furnish information called by an officer or fails to produce documents called for by a Central Excise Officer, then he shall be liable to a penalty which may extend to Rs. 10,000 or Rs. 200 for every day during which the default continues (whichever is higher), starting from the first day after the due date, till the date of actual compliance.

Penalty provisions for issuing incorrect invoice or not accounting invoices in his books of accounts – If a person issues invoice in accordance with the provisions of the act or rules made there under with incorrect or incomplete details or fails to account for an invoice in his books of account, he shall be liable to a penalty which may extend to Rs. 10,000.

Penalty provisions for failure to pay tax electronically when required – If a person, who is required to pay tax electronically, through internet banking, fails to pay tax electronically, then he shall be liable liable to a penalty which may extend to Rs. 10,000.

Penalty provisions for non- appearance before officers on issue of summons – If a person fails to appear before the Central Excise Officer, when issued with a summon for appearance to give evidence or to produce a document in an inquiry, he shall be liable to a penalty which may extend to Rs. 10,000 or Rs. 200 for every day during which the default continues (whichever is higher), starting from the first day after the due date, till the date of actual compliance.

13 September 2013 it is okay. now there is vces scheme for the defaulters. avail this opportunity and avoid penalty, interest, etc., you need to pay only 50% before 31st dec and balance before nxt year july.