Query in service tax threshold exemption

Guest (Querist)
19 October 2013 Hi,

Someone may please see the following and IF POSSIBLE, give reply:

Query 1

Assessee commenced business in May 2013.

As the invoice value crossed Rs.9 Lacs, Assessee has taken registration in August 2013.

Now, Assessee has total gross receipts Rs.20 Lacs for Apr-Jun 2013.

Which notification no. and sl. no., should I select for availing threshold limit exemption as in Field A.11.

Ans : ………………

Please confirm, suppose if I need to fill Rs.10 Lacs in Apr-Jun in Field B1.1. and for the second effect, should I fill Rs.10 Lacs in Field B.1.9 to consider threshold limit exemption.

Ans : ………………

Thanks in advance for your replies.

20 October 2013 Notification No.33/2012 has superceded and replace the exemption notification 6/2005 and hence the same may be quoted for availing for exemption.

In the ST-3 Return click exemption / abatement availed (A11 or A12). The relevant row will become green to enable you input figures. The amount of Gross Billing should be input in B1.1 and the abatement of Rs.10 lakhs should be input in B1.11.

This will automatically take care of the basic threshold limit of exemption.

20 October 2013 Yes this is absolutely correct

Guest (Querist)
21 October 2013 First, I thank for taking time and replied - Mr. Ramaswamy.

My further query is:

I specifically stated about only the EXEMPTION for threshold limit.

Hence, fields that impact are
A.11.1 and A.11.2.
B.1.1 and B.1.9.

IF POSSIBLE, please confirm.

25 October 2013 You are correct