CA Day celebration 2024 Easy Office

Plz advise for itr

09 November 2013 dear expert i have filled itr for ay13-14 before due date first i filled itr2 as original return but after few days revise return as itr4s after this i have re revise the return as itr1 but now my tds deduct 60000 in sep2013 for f.y 12-13 under 194J now i have to revise itr as itr4 all this has just done due to lack of knowledge of i t provision plz guide me for further consequense and for refund what should i keep in my mind for prevention of scrutiny cases.....

09 November 2013 First of all you have to quit the habit of abruptly revising the returns as you are now fully conversant with almost all the ITRs.
Now it is the consequences part which become more important. CPC issues the refunds quickly in the normal cases. In your case the refund may be validly delayed.
Your case may be transferred to your jurisdictional AO. One more instance for getting the delayed refund.
194J is applicable to the professionals.
Being an expert in your knowledge field, you know the importance of the expertise and the knowledge.
You can improve your tax knowledge by regularly reading the articles and relevant queries on this forum to update the knowledge of this field.
Being a true professional, do not hesitate in paying nominal amount of fee to the tax professionals for filing your ITR. You will save your valuable time. That will benefit you in higher earnings in your professional field. Your tax refund will be fatter than the amount of fee paid.

09 November 2013 Mr. Singh, in income tax there is no limit for revision of return and you can revise your return as many time but in this case as you have already done blunders, there is hardly anything left in your hand... Whatever is to be done let income tax department do their job...
Make final revision in ITR 4... CPC will either delay the refund or transfer the case to local jurisdictional officer... In first case you are helpless and you will have to wait till they release refund...
In second case you can justify the officer for doing this blunder and hope he considers your difficulty and release the refund...

09 November 2013 I agree with Bafna ji with regards to the implications as well as your duties as a professional.

Also, most of your queries claim ignorance of tax laws. Please remember ignorance is no excuse.

But it doesn't make much difference as far as tax assessment is concerned. Just revise the return taking into consideration all the information available to you and ensure that no more revisions are required.