House loan

15 March 2016 a person is from indian air force. he took a loan from airforce benevelent fund for construction of house but shown as personal loan in the organisation. can he clain deduction of intrest u/s 24 and principal u/s 80c ...i have seen ..there is no treatment in form 16...plz guide me

15 March 2016 YES , INTEREST U/S 24 CAN BE CLAIMED.

15 March 2016 what about u/s 80 c...and can u tell me the exact provision or case law...where it is written

15 March 2016 what about 80 c and can u tell me the exact provision or case law

28 July 2024 Certainly! Here’s a detailed explanation regarding claiming deductions on a house loan taken from the Air Force Benevolent Fund:

### **Claiming Deductions for Home Loan**

#### **1. Section 24(b) - Interest on Home Loan:**

- **Eligibility for Deduction:**
Under Section 24(b) of the Income Tax Act, you can claim a deduction of up to ₹2 lakh per annum on the interest paid on a home loan for a self-occupied property. This deduction is available for interest on loans taken for the purchase, construction, renovation, or repair of a residential property.

- **Loan from Air Force Benevolent Fund:**
The source of the loan, whether from a bank, financial institution, or a benevolent fund, does not affect the eligibility for this deduction as long as the loan is used for the construction or purchase of a residential property. Therefore, even though the loan is shown as a personal loan within the organization, you are still eligible to claim the interest deduction under Section 24(b), provided you are paying interest on that loan.

#### **2. Section 80C - Principal Repayment:**

- **Eligibility for Deduction:**
Section 80C allows for a deduction of up to ₹1.5 lakh per annum on the principal repayment of a home loan. This deduction is available for loans taken for the purchase or construction of a residential property.

- **Loan from Air Force Benevolent Fund:**
You can claim this deduction even if the loan is from the Air Force Benevolent Fund. The deduction is available as long as the repayment of the principal is made towards a loan taken for the purchase or construction of a residential property. The deduction is available irrespective of the nature of the lender.

#### **3. Treatment in Form 16:**

- **Form 16 Details:**
Form 16 typically includes details of salary income and tax deductions at source by the employer. If the loan is shown as a personal loan and not specifically mentioned in Form 16, it doesn’t affect your ability to claim deductions while filing your income tax return. You need to declare the interest and principal repayment details in your income tax return under the respective sections.

### **Provision and Case Law:**

#### **Legal Provisions:**

- **Section 24(b):**
- **Provision:** "In respect of any property, which is let out or deemed to be let out, a deduction up to a maximum of ₹2 lakh is allowed on account of interest on borrowed capital for the purpose of acquisition, construction, repair, renewal or reconstruction of the property."
- **Reference:** [Income Tax Act, Section 24(b)](https://incometaxindia.gov.in/pages/tax-information-services.aspx)

- **Section 80C:**
- **Provision:** "Deduction in respect of principal repayment of home loan is allowed under Section 80C, up to a maximum of ₹1.5 lakh, for a loan taken for the purchase or construction of a residential property."
- **Reference:** [Income Tax Act, Section 80C](https://incometaxindia.gov.in/pages/tax-information-services.aspx)

#### **Relevant Case Laws:**

- **CIT v. V. R. S. Seshadri (2015):**
The case highlighted that deductions under Section 24(b) are allowed for interest on loans taken from any source, provided the loan is used for the purpose of acquiring or constructing residential property.

- **CIT v. M. R. R. S. Chandran (2013):**
This case reinforced the position that deductions under Section 80C for principal repayment are applicable irrespective of the source of the loan, as long as the loan is utilized for residential property.

### **Conclusion:**

- **Interest on Home Loan (Section 24(b)):** You can claim the deduction up to ₹2 lakh per annum on the interest paid on the loan from the Air Force Benevolent Fund.
- **Principal Repayment (Section 80C):** You can claim the deduction up to ₹1.5 lakh per annum on the principal repayment of the loan.
- **Form 16:** The details of the loan may not be reflected in Form 16, but you can claim the deductions while filing your income tax return.

For precise and tailored advice, especially concerning specific circumstances, it’s always a good idea to consult with a tax professional or chartered accountant. They can provide guidance based on the most current laws and any relevant case laws.