RAJINDER SINGH

I HAVE INSTALLED A PHOTOCOPY MACHINE IN MY CLIENT PREMISES. MY JOB IS TO DO PHOTOCOPY OF THE CLIENTS DOCUMENTS . I WILL BE USING MY PAPER, TONNER ETC. FOR THE PHOTOCOPIES.

PLS SUGGEST ME WHETHER I SHOULD CHARGE VAT/CST ON PHOTOCOPIES CHARGES. WHTHER ANY CASE LAW HAS BEEN DECIDED ON THIS MATTER

Meghana

14 May 2008 at 12:40

Disallowances of Set off

We are a trading company,

we have purchased silver plated items (Puja Thalis) from M/s. A & Co,

The dealer has charged VAT @ 4% to us,

We in turn have sold this goods by charging 4% VAT and 10% CST (full rate of tax)

We have claimed set off for VAT paid on purchases.

STO has not only disallowed the set off ( as they have included these items in schedule E and the dealer M/s. A should have charged VAT @ 12.50% and not 4%) but has asked us to pay 12.5% on our sale.

Is the STO justified ?

Ramesh B. Uplana (CA)

14 May 2008 at 11:18

WORK CONTRACT TAX

WHAT IS THE DEFINATION OF WCT AND WHITCH % CHARGES IN WHITCH ITEM

Mihir

13 May 2008 at 18:28

Maharashtra VAT audit

In case of liquor dealer the audit under MVAT is compulsory even if the sale is below 40 Lacs. In such cases whether VAt Auditor should conduct regular audit over and above vat audit and attache that report with Form No. 704? or else no statutory audit report is required to be attached in such cases?

Ramesh B. Uplana (CA)

13 May 2008 at 14:53

VAT

ONE PARTY CHARGED VAT ON CONSTRUCTION BILL TO OTHER PARTY AND OTHER PARTY CAN VAT CLAIM ON CAPITAL GOODS IN DADRA NAGAR HAVELI

Varsha

13 May 2008 at 11:42

Reduction in set off

Is reduction in set off available for petroleum products under Rule 53???

varun gupta

13 May 2008 at 09:07

VAT Liability

VAT liability arises on booking basis or on actual receipt/payment basis?

anil
This Query has 6 replies

10 May 2008 at 17:57

vat deposited instead of cst

if vat deposited instead of cst , can that vat so deposited be adjusted against due cst? please reply soon

manish

sir,
if a dealer imports goods and then transfer to branches outside the state whether it will b taxable.
as u/s 11(3)b of gujarat vat act: dealer has to reduce its input tax credit on stock transfer at the rate of 4%.
kindly suggest me whether my imported goods transferred to outside branches will b taxable @4%.

Meghana

A partnership firm was converted into Private limited company in 2005-06under chapter IX of company's act, 1956. MVAT Registration no. was taken for the erstwhile Partnership firm which was carried forward via ammendment for the company.
Will the company require new registration number ?
(The sales tax authorities are insisting for a new registration no. when the company approached them for the refund of sales tax.)