CA. Varun Soni
22 October 2007 at 18:33

SSI EXEMPTION

i am proprietor me a small unit and also partner of another small manufacturing unit. the activities of both units are different but they are functioning from the same premises and separately availing exemption upto rs 150 lakhs. the excise authorities say that the clearances of both units need to be clubed. Whats your say?

Mridula

Dear Freinds,

Iam working in forging (Engineering items) manufacturer Company. My query is:
Acc. to terms & conditions of purchase order, the goods is to be delivered after testing of goods. we charged the testing charges on goods sold to the client and it was mentioned in the Purchase order that taxes on testing charges will be applicable as per govt rules.

Now at the time of payment the client has not made the payment of excise & taxes on testing charges.

In my opinion Excise & taxes should be paid by the client because testing is the precondition for despatch of goods.

Kindly solve my problem.

Amit

hi, friends...

In the financial year 2007-08, I found some raw mat. purchase bill related to F.Y. 2005-06 on which no cenvat credit availed. whether I can availed this cenvat cedit in Current finacial year (07-08) ????

whether any rule of CCR restrict time limit for claiming cenvat credit?????

CA Tejas Andharia
13 October 2007 at 13:45

Preserving Records

For how long the records should be preserved under the Central Excise Act, Customs Act and Service Tax Act ? (Like there are minimum 8 years as per the Companies Act.)Please also tell me that for how long a CA. should preserve its clients records and working papers ?

Prachi
05 October 2007 at 13:18

excise duty on finished goods

Dear Sir / Ma'am,

Wether excise duty payable on finished goods is included in the closing stock of finished goods.

Prachi

CA Shilpa Dekhane
02 October 2007 at 12:52

excise working knowledge

Do you know any tutions/lectures which will provide working knowledge of EXCISE/VAT/SALES TAX etc. if yes please tell me.

Deepak Sharma
28 September 2007 at 10:44

Can it possible ?

A manufacturing Company received a Purchase Order. According to this P.O.:- Mfg. Co. will send the material to M/s ABC Co.; ABC Co. have taken L/C and It will issue the 'Form C' to Mfg. Co. but ABC Co. wants to get delivered the goods to XYZ Co. directly and XYZ Co. take the Cenvat Credit; for this ABC Co. wants Mfg. Co. issue two invoices;

First- Commercial Invoice in the name of ABC Co. for the purpose of L/C and 'Form C'

Second- Excise Invoice under rule 11 in the name of XYZ Co. for the purpose of availing Cenvat credit by XYZ

My Question is:- Can it possible to issue two invoice in different name for same goods ?

If it is not possible, how can XYZ Co. availed cenvat credit?

please reply soon

with regard

sushantca

hi every1,
plzzz tell me 4m where i can get cases on Cenvat Credit rules,2004. some of the practical instances
thanks in advance

Vishvesh
17 September 2007 at 10:38

Cenvat credit disallowance due to demerger

A manufacturing company "A", through a due process of law and by scheme of arrangement approved by Hon'ble High Court, got demerged. The existing company "A” retained its legal entity and continued to exist as a project undertaking and executed its on-going domestic/local orders. The newly formed demerged company "B" became a 100%EOU. The export orders so far handled by company “A” and the land, plant, machinery, workers, staff, all future liabilities were transferred through a scheme of arrangement as above to company “B”, while the domestic orders and present liabilties were retained by Company “A”. Company “A” retained some of the old employees and some contract labourers for carrying out its activities. A revised layout of the factory showing the areas of operation of the two companies and the High Court Order copy were submitted to Central Excise Department as well as Customs Authorities. Company “A” continued to file monthly return and other periodical reports to Central Excise Department. The Central Excise Department after obtaining recorded statements from some of the employees and managers and production staff took away some files records and other documents from the two companies and alleged that Company “A” does not have manufacturing facilities as the machinery work force etc were transferred to company “B”. It issued show cause notice disallowing the entire cenvat credit available in the books of company “A” and also the cenvat amounts already availed for clearing its manufactured goods after the demerger date. It may be noted that Company “A” continued to execute its domestic job orders. Is the Department justified in disallowing the cenvat credit? I request our expert panel for their valued opinion on this serious issue. Sorry my query is quite lengthy as my intention is to present full facts of the case. If there are any decided case laws, please let me know. Thanks a lot.

vivek
13 September 2007 at 11:01

pls help me......

i couldn't crack the last cpt...next exam on nov 4th...can i pass it by preparing 50days nd what r d tips to be remember, i mean which subject should be given importance nd if it is needed to look all chapters in detail?pls help me.....