Response to ICAI introducing case studies

William Parkar (gfgfdgdfgfdgdg) (46 Points)
Replied 22 April 2010

This kind of things happens with regular articles all times.  Only www.indishell.in can give a right response to this kind of things by hacking the website on which the official announcement regarding implementation of this scheme will publish by ICAI.

Research Papers

jose.p (CA in service) (1676 Points)
Replied 22 April 2010

Mr Aldrine! I agree with Krunal bro; and less cost can't be excuse for maintaining low standards for students. "Tumne kam paise pay karr rahe ho!To compensate that, ghode jaise kaam karo CA andarr".

ICAI, if it really wants emulate good aspects of MBA, it should do something about porviding multi-speciality exposures as per the wish/interest of student. But as per some people; icai also helps us in knowledge hunting! Yes, by giving us outdated syllabus, making bogus and ambigous rules, exams ke ekk mahine pehle syllabus change karke; humm khotte hain kya that we will buy this.

And to get establishment in this theory; we have to slog even without qualification and that too without certainty. What nonsense is that. The training we are getting today is the same Rakeccha sir and Aldrine were getting in their days. How can ICAI expect us to be practise ffriendly; while they are making our launching ground after qualification to be a quicksand.

<Message Deleted>

CA SURENDRA KUMAR RAKHECHA (Practising CA at Surat) (26263 Points)
Replied 23 April 2010

Institute's syllabus is regularly updated with the help of ICAI Journal which is one of the best Journal in the professional courses. 

How many students refer it to update their knowledge ?

INSTITUTE HAS NOT BANNED STUDENTS TO READ ICAI JOURNAL.

Many times it is suggested by the Institute and its peers that -

READ JOURNALS AND OTHER PUBLICATIONS WHICH ARE IN LINE WITH THE DEVELOPMENTS; BUT STUDENTS AND EVEN MEMBERS NEVER LISTEN TO IT AND THENAFTER BLAME ICAI. 

PLEASE REFER PREVIOUS 5 YEARS JOURNAL AND THEN COMPARE IT WITH OTHER COURSES. 

IF MEMBERS AND STUDENTS CANNOT KEEP THEIR EYES OPEN FOR THE DEVELOPMENTS WHICH TAKE PLACE IN AND AROUND THE WORLD; DON'T EXPECT SPOON-FEEDING FROM THE INSTITUTE.

CA SURENDRA KUMAR RAKHECHA (Practising CA at Surat) (26263 Points)
Replied 23 April 2010

SO MANY GOOD BOOKS ARE EASILY  AVAILABLE RIGHT IN THE MARKET ABOUT VARIOUS SUBJECTS EASILY - WHETHER IT IS MANAGEMENT, IT OR ANY OTHER.

GO FOR THESE AND READ THEM. SO EASY !! 

WHAT IS LACKING IN THE INSTITUTE'S MODULES AND MATERIALS CAN BE COMPENSATED BY SPENDING 2-3 THOUSAND RUPEES. 

Replied 23 April 2010

Waah! kya answer hain. Many articles in the students' journals are by students themselves who usually copy them from the net and send it to ICAI. I prefer journal of my CA which comes to our office. Although i don't have much time to read it thoroughly; i do have a glance at them. And we aren't allowed to take them home. Regarding student's newsletter; i hate them; as they are merely President's PRIVATE PHOTO ALBUM. sIR, WE ARE NOT SUBSCRIBERS OF ICAI MAGAZINES FOR PAST 5 YEARS; AS I JOINED CA COURSE IN 2007. AND I URGE ALL STUDENTS TO USE THEIR STIPEND TO BUY BOOKS TO COMPENSATE WHAT ICAI HAS NOT GIVEN IN ITS MODULES. (waise bhi hum wohi karte hain naa; we use reference books rather than icai modules)

Replied 23 April 2010

Krunal bro; ur idea of that famous CNBC presenter was an eyeopener. And that brother in law and that CA also was good. And uttam listening to dance and music; well i am visualising Aurangzeb(uttam) in PEacock throne at ICAI office at Delhi (mughal capital); enjoying dancing and singing.

Krunal Raichura (Financial Advisory) (2134 Points)
Replied 23 April 2010

May I kindly know on what basis have you rated ICAI journal as the best journal? Which journals have you compared it with? What does “finance” word mean for this purpose, only accounting, auditing and taxation? If it is not so, please go through the last five years journals and please tell us which journals are going to give me all the information which I have been talking about in my posts?

After you will tell me this, I will show you the comparison of ICAI journal of members as well as students with the stuff I read, and I will show you how childish ICAI books and journals are.

My days have not become so bad that I will have to read all this sh*t of ICAI. I have been a regular reader of many magazines and journals since last decade. I have better things to read. I have read hundreds of books on these subjects. I have also finished Green Belt of Six Sigma from the Six Sigma Institute, The Leadership and Management essentials from Harvard University and certifications on Business Valuation, Corporate Finance from New York Institute of Finance.

I care a damn for all this sh*t. My eyes, ears are well open and I can see the arrogance. Your post is an example of the attitude part for CAs I have been talking of. You are saying that students should spend money, refer books etc. Many students do these things. I have hundreds of books and atleast over 2 DVDs of useful text data for which I have spent lakhs. You have not understood my question. I have been constantly asking you what is ICAI’s contribution for student’s development? Instead of accepting the weakness of members and ICAI, you are putting the blame on students and saying that we expect spoon feeding? These Journals is what ICAI gives to students???? Balls to these dubious raddi ka mal!

You can ask students to do everything, but not accept your fault and change your syllabus according to the needs of the world. See how arrogant the attitude is. Students are just expecting a syllabus which is relevant to today’s world. Expecting this cannot be termed as “Spoon Feeding”. Actually it is the members and ICAI who wants spoon feeding because it doesn’t want to change or either give any support to students but wants students to do everything. And after that instead of appreciating the greatness and the efforts of students, you would go and talk about the CA course….this is what I term as a looser attitude. Even after me and many others like me reading and doing all this, the exams are based only on the outdated and idiotic syllabus of ICAI.  And you all will judge students based on how well they read all this sh*t and sh*tted it on the answer sheets of ICAI.

Two years back, I had got an offer from 2-3 big 4 firms. I had got it with my own efforts. ICAI or its members never helped. But the ICAI and my principal that time made sure I face a tough time and my efforts go waste. Even that time, they did enough things to make sure I spoil my career in that small stupid firm. I fought back, I had my networks and I could get what I want. I managed to get in the firm I wanted inspite of all these barriers created by ICAI and its members. This is the role of ICAI – to create barriers in the life of hard working students!

ICAI in this sense is a big time looser. It expects spoon feeding from us. It doesn’t want to do anything for students but wants to create barriers in our life. We do everything – right from referring and buying other books, find out something better to read than these childish journals of ICAI…and then you will say that ICAI is great and CA course is the best. What non sense is this?

If ICAI cannot update its syllabus and respond to the changes of the environment, if it cannot have proper infrastructure for imparting practical training in students, if it has failed miserably in keeping the CA practice a lucrative area and at the same time failed to give good employment opportunities to its members in the industry, atleast it should not expect spoon feeding from us and create barriers in life by challenging our democracy to work with the person and the firm we want to.

PS - Surendra Sir, please dont take anything personally. I have very high regards for you. You are great. You have taken lot of efforts to motivate us, to encourage us for learning. My arguement is only against ICAI and many of its members who expect spoon feeding from students and they create barriers for us.

s.lohani (Final student) (1050 Points)
Replied 23 April 2010

harvard mein ghusna; CA jitna easy nahi hain sahib. The cream amongst the cream of the world compete to go there. Take Chidambaram, Barack Obama, CK Prahlad, etc

Great !!! Everybody over here is busy proving his own set of arguements... Its rightly said " Nobody wins an arguement". After seeing 29 replies there seems to be great debate without any well drawn conclusion....

I personally agree with what CA. Surendra sir has said till now... Its we students who can learn much better than spoon feeding.. No doubt CA study material is not up to mark, but there are resources through which we can learn... Moreover by seeing Mr. Jose, Mr. Krunal replies.., it appeared as if they are master of everything...  CA materials are not upto mark but there are things which are not there anywhere.. They do provide a good amount of knowledge.. At the same time it should be updated with good presentation. There are resources like journal which Mr. Jose said its a copy from net... Ok let it be.... Tell me how much u have digested that copied information...???

Its said before pointing one finger on others we should remember that 3 fingers point  to us also...

Moreover, the discussion started in relation to introduction of case studies.. To be more clear, ICAI has till now not issued any scheme of that case studies. So how can u speculate future details of it.. Let the scheme come , we will see...

what is being done by ICAI is satisfactory at least to me in terms of genuine overall welfare of students and members.

An earnest request to some hardcore critics.. kindly criticise for the sake of overall benefit and not for the heck of simply talking....

My views and understanding  is totally in support with CA. Surendra sir.....

Keep on learning... All Is well.... What is not well is the thinking in mind..... So think ethically and genuinely....

All the best for thinking.... Think fruitfully.....

Regarding articleship...I have also seen the hardship faced by articles student.. I have worked as an employee in an Auditor office and i knw whats going on..  I am against Dummy articles , but dont worry they suffer when they enter corporate world.. So a kind advice to all Dummies, to stop your dummyship and start learning...

But you and me being  CA students lets not forget that we are going to  beThinking server of any organisation...  For that, be ready to learn from whatever be the source. Opportunity always knocks silently, its we who have to grab it and learn it....  Since we are into CA one should be atleast that smart to search for a firm where one get a good exposure...  just a little smartness is required to take such decision.. We as a CA should think always" How things are to be done or how anything is to be achieved ethically"  rather than crying over what we see in front of us...

I am sorry to use some harsh lines but thats the harsh reality

At the end,  Kindly stop  criticising and put an end to this unfruitful debate.... If some peeople think that something is wrong, first see whats wrong on your part and if u have that guts and power to change that sytem(which you feel is wrong) then go aahead but first see ourselves rather we should see .....

Lets learn , from people and other resources available... Albert Einstien was never exposed to any high end training.... We should use our brains in aright direction , rest all  things will move right.....   Come on gain knowledge... Lets Go.....

All the best....

Replied 23 April 2010

Let us discuss! tera kyaa jaata hain. How dare u malign krunal bhai and mine name! We have digested the info; bro; tere jaisa raddi mein nahi bechtey. but we have to attend office and can't spend the whole day surfing for books. And our first priority is the present syllabus; don't worry bro; we know what we have to discuss and do for our future. And forums are for discussion. And we aren't speculating; we are just giving our response to amarjit sir's media interaction. So, if u don't take part; stay out. When new topics come; this will stop completely.

Replied 23 April 2010

as per u; people should stop discussing about politics, right. To get that right; we should don gandhi caps ??? you seem to be big fan of rahul baba(gandhi). All of us have faults; who denies that? And for us to change the system; we have to become CA first. For voting at icai elections; we need to be CA. If students were allowed to vote; most of problems could have been solved. We are not dropping our weapons and quitting CA as some of our mentors suggest. But we have a right as member of caclubindia forum to discuss with fellow students; what will be repercussion of this new step; and stuff like that. U don't wanna discuss; then stay out naa. Surendra sir may not agree with our logic; but it's been a healthy discussion. And all me, krunalbhai, surendra sir have been enjoying it.

Replied 23 April 2010

faiz miyaa; see this link. this is what icai members are doing. /forum/goondagardi-at-icai-hq-45083.asp this is one matter which has come in open. such things happen in icai bigwigs all over country everytime. i even have heard that a ex-icai office bearer to have sired an illegal child( i wont name him.his wife shouldn't suffer)