is expenditure on fluorescent tubes is allowable expenses in normal routine or not
SUDHIR & PRADEEP JI (CA FINAL+LLB + DISA) (2299 Points)
15 April 2010is expenditure on fluorescent tubes is allowable expenses in normal routine or not
praveen
(Chartered Accountant)
(6971 Points)
Replied 15 April 2010
Keeping in mind the smallness of expenditure they have to be allowed as expenditure. However if there are a number of such tubes bought then it should be treated as a fixed asset.
Shikha Bajaj
(CA )
(433 Points)
Replied 15 April 2010
Agreeing with Mr. Praveen, i want to add that the companies following the significant accounting policies may charge 100% dep on the assets having cost of Rs 5000 or less individually.
For e.g. u have incurred an expenditure of Rs 500000 on the 2500 fluroscent tubes to be installed in the whole plant.
Since the cost of each tube is Rs.200. Therefore 100 dep may be charged in the year in which they have been shown as capitalised.
Shikha
Aditya Maheshwari
(CA in Practice)
(35867 Points)
Replied 15 April 2010
Dear Shikha,
Provision of allowing of full depreciation on assets less than Rs. 5,000/- is there in the Companies Act 1956 and not in Income Tax Act, 1961. For income tax purposes depreciation will be allowable at the specified rates only.
SIDHARTH DHIR
(senior articled assistant)
(623 Points)
Replied 15 April 2010
SMALL QUANTITY= MISCELLANEOUS EXPENSES/ OFFICE LIGHTING
LARGE QUANTITY= PURCHASE OF FURNITURE AND FIXTURE.
KINDLY CORRECT ME IF I AM WRONG!!!!
saranraj
(CA FINAL)
(419 Points)
Replied 15 April 2010
Mr.Pradip, Tubelights are not Fixed assets....
SOMESH
(ARTICLE ASSISTANT)
(21 Points)
Replied 15 April 2010
Your answer :---
Expenditure on replacement of ordinary lights by fluorescent tube is revenue expenditure and should not be treated of a capital nature.(Addl. CIT v. india united mills ltd. [1983} 141 ITR 399 (bom.).
Dharmendra kumar
(CA)
(201 Points)
Replied 15 April 2010
Yeah 100% allowable for their life is one year or so..