Demystifying the Record-Breaking Surge in Income Tax Returns

Rashmi , Last updated: 02 August 2023  

The Income-tax Department reported a significant increase in the number of Income-tax Returns (ITRs) filed, reaching a new record. According to a statement from the Press Information Bureau, ITRs filed for the assessment year (AY) 2023–24 totaled over 6.77 crore by July 31, 2023. This marks a 16.1% increase compared to the ITRs filed by the same date for AY 2022–23, which was 5.83 crore.

By July 31, 2023, the Department also received 53.67 lakh ITRs from individuals filing for the first time. This indicates a notable expansion of the taxpayer base. The peak for ITR filings occurred on July 31, 2023, which was the deadline for salaried taxpayers and others without tax audits. On this day, over 64.33 lakh ITRs were submitted.

Once you submit your tax returns, you can check the status of whether the Income Tax Department has accepted and processed your ITR. In certain cases, if discrepancies are found, you may need to respond to notices from the Income Tax Department.

Demystifying the Record-Breaking Surge in Income Tax Returns

Different ITR Statuses

1. Submitted and pending for e-Verification / Verification: This status applies when you have filed an ITR but have not yet e-Verified it, or when the Centralized Processing Center (CPC) has not received your legally signed ITR-V.
  2. Successfully e-Verified: This status indicates that your return has been filed and e-Verified or Verified, but it hasn't been processed yet.
  3. Processed: This status shows that your return has been successfully processed.
  4. Defective: If the Income Tax Department notices defects or inconsistencies in your filed return, you will receive a notice under section 139(9) asking you to rectify the issues within a specified timeframe. Failing to respond to this notice will result in your ITR being considered invalid and not processed.
  5. Case transferred to Assessing Officer: This status indicates that the CPC has transferred your ITR to your jurisdictional Assessing Officer (AO). If this happens, the AO will contact you for the necessary details.

How to Check Income Tax Return Status Online

1. Visit Income Tax India website and log in using your PAN/Aadhaar number as the user ID and your password.
  2. After logging in, click on the 'e-file' option. Under 'e-file,' choose 'Income tax returns,' and then select 'View Filed returns.'
  3. Check the latest filed ITR.
  4. Select 'View Details' to see the ITR status. This page will also display the date of tax refunds issued, the amount, and the clearance date.

Important FAQs about ITR Status

1. Is the ITR Status service only for viewing my ITR status as a registered taxpayer?

Apart from viewing your ITR status, you can also:

• View and download your ITR-V Acknowledgement, uploaded JSON (from the offline utility), complete ITR form in PDF, and intimation order.
  • View your return(s) pending for verification and take further action to e-verify your return(s).

2. Do I need my mobile number registered with the e-Filing portal to view my ITR status without logging in?

No, you can use any valid mobile number to view your ITR status without logging in. However, a valid ITR acknowledgment number is needed if you're using this service without logging in.

3. Where can I find my acknowledgment number to enter when checking my ITR status?

You can find your acknowledgment number in the ITR-V received on your registered email after e-Filing your return. It's also downloadable from the e-Filing portal post-login: e-File > Income Tax Returns > View Filed Returns > Download Receipt option. You can also find it using the View Filed Forms service on the portal.

In summary, the Income-tax Department reported a record increase in ITR filings, and you can check your ITR status and perform related actions online through the government's income tax portal.

The author is a Chartered Accountant with 2 decades of experience into Accounting, Taxation, Auditing, Risk & Compliance, Credit Controls, Due diligence. Currently, the author is the founder and managing partner at RRL Global Services.

Published by

Rashmi
(business)
Category Income Tax   Report

1 Likes   14616 Views

Comments

Related Articles

Popular Articles

CCI Articles

submit article