Which itr applicable.

272 views 9 replies
Dear Sir, My brother is a private company employee. He received his salary in cash Rs. 10,500 /- p.m. No form 16 given by employer. I mean to say that no salary proof available at him as cash received. Company denied to give any proof of salary. So, he can't show his salary income. Now he wants to make a IT file for a.y 2017-18 by showing this income as Tution fees. So, which ITR should he file. Now he will file first time so any assessment will make from department. Please guide me anyone.
Replies (9)

I think ITR-1 (SAHAJ)

ITR-1 (SAHAJ)   

For individual having income from salaries, one house property and income from other sources (Interest etc.) and having total income up to Rs. 50 Lakh

However Income is less than the Basic Exemption limit it is not mandatory to file a return in your case ,However ITR 1 would be suggested in your case if still insist on filing the return.

Ans also advice him to take the salary in a bank account so that by then he file in with proper Head of  salary

Sunil Sharma

for first time filers assessment may not be made

Dear Sunil Ji, Our company will not give salary in bank, so If I will show this in other sources head then any problem will arise. Actually he wants to show this as tution fees.

It would be shown as tuition fees only under the head income from other sources
however being a company they should avoid payment of salary in cash again it's upto them and you.

Dear Sunil Sharma Ji, so tution fees will show in ITR 1 or 4S.

4s will not be applicable here in your case it will be ITR 1 and the treatment for the above issue would be kindly show as tution fees under the head income from other sources while filing your it return.
in for more clarification feel free to call me @

Dear Sharma Ji, In ITR 1 under income from other sources head there is no option to write manually as tution fees. Then how dept will know that my income is as tution fees. Please clarify this sir.