hi
if there is some contract of 1 lac by headoffice for something and it has deducted tds,and branch has the contract with the same person for only 5000rs,then is branch liable to deduct tds?
Sorabh Gupta
(Manager ( Taxation ))
(877 Points)
Replied 29 August 2009
Abhishek ....
TDS is dedcuted on the basis on TAN no.........If TAN no. of ur HO & Branch is same then deduct TDS accordingly & if TAN no. of both HO & branch is differ then treat seprate contract.......& dedcut TDS accordingly............
Juzer Sadikot
(CA - innovative solutions for Imports and Exports)
(1309 Points)
Replied 29 August 2009
Dear Abhishek,
I disagree with Mr. Sorabh.
What I found is following;
In view of above, the company shall require to deduct tax on Rs. 5000 for Contract which is entered by its branch.
Mr. Sorabh Sir, Correct me if I am wrong or missed something.
Thanks and regards
abhishek
(STUDENT)
(162 Points)
Replied 31 August 2009
hi
mr. sorabh has represented a clear view but mr. juzer has missed something,kindly revert back, and clear my doubts ,thanks a lot
Sorabh Gupta
(Manager ( Taxation ))
(877 Points)
Replied 31 August 2009
Dear Abhi.......
Look there are no of example to clear ur doubts.....one is .......say "A" is HO located at Mumbai & "B" is Branch located at Delhi. It is obivious that TAN no. of both office are differ. And Mr. Contractor makes a contract with A & B for Renting the Immovable property. Then both contract will be treat as seprate contract as well on both contract address of both office are mentioned . IF address are seprate then their juridiction is also differ & if juridiction is differ the both contract is mentioned & they must claim minimum exemption seperately. May be Contarct makes contarct with A ony that they will provide office to B also & in that case they got payment from Mumbai Office ie. from "A" . In that case "A" will dedcut TDS accordingly but if there is seperate contact then treat both contarct differ & dedcut TDS accordingly..........Hope now ur doubts has been cleared.
RITESH KOTHARI
(B.COM, FCA, DISA(ICAI))
(778 Points)
Replied 31 August 2009
I AGREE WITH MR. SOURABH.
THE BRANCH AND HO ARE DIFFERENT THEREFORE THERE TDS LIABILITY CANT BE CLUBBED.
JUZER YOU SHOULD READ SOME EXPLAINATIONS AS WELL AS PRACTICAL EXAMPLES INSTEAD OF INTERPRETING THE BARE ACT IN YOUR OWN WAY.
REGARDS,
CA RITESH KOTHARI
Juzer Sadikot
(CA - innovative solutions for Imports and Exports)
(1309 Points)
Replied 01 September 2009
Originally posted by :RITESH KOTHARI | ||
" | I AGREE WITH MR. SOURABH. THE BRANCH AND HO ARE DIFFERENT THEREFORE THERE TDS LIABILITY CANT BE CLUBBED. JUZER YOU SHOULD READ SOME EXPLAINATIONS AS WELL AS PRACTICAL EXAMPLES INSTEAD OF INTERPRETING THE BARE ACT IN YOUR OWN WAY. REGARDS, CA RITESH KOTHARI |
" |
Respected Ritesh Sir,
Could you help me to crystalize - "Where it is written/specified that Branch and HO are difference for Tax Deduction Purpose"
Please help your response with relevant section, rule, circular, notication or case laws for establishing above.
Thanks in Advance.