Stcg on sale of property

Tax queries 1181 views 8 replies

I have sold a property and there is a STCG of Rs. 15.00 lakhs. In the same year I am having business loss and short term capital loss on shares. Can the same be adjusted????

Please clarify. 

Replies (8)
Originally posted by : Vishhal K Bhartia

I have sold a property and there is a STCG of Rs. 15.00 lakhs. In the same year I am having business loss and short term capital loss on shares. Can the same be adjusted????

Please clarify. 

as far as i can recall, as per sec. 72, business loss cannot be set-off against STCG, it must be carried forward until it can be set-off against business profits if any. and STCL from shares can be set-off against STCG.

Originally posted by : rajiv

Please clarify. 

as far as i can recall, as per sec. 72, business loss cannot be set-off against STCG, it must be carried forward until it can be set-off against business profits if any. and STCL from shares can be set-off against STCG.

I am having short term capital loss on sale of shares of Rs. 10.00 lakhs. SO as per your reply I can adjust STCG on Sale of property of Rs. 15.00 lakhs from STCL on Sale of shares of Rs. 10.00 lakhs. So Net STCG will be Rs. 5.00 lakhs.?????

yes vishal..it can be adjusted as you write..

No, STCG cannot be set off with business loss. STCG can be adjusted with STCL.

1.Business loss can be set-off against any capital gain. and also any other source of income(except salary)....but capital loss(ST/LT) cannot be set off against any source of income ...

2. ST capital loss can be set off against aST/L:T cap mgain but LT cap loss can be set off only against LT cap gain

Agree with Saurabh ji,

Short term Capital gain can be set off against Short term gain on sale of Property in your case.

Sr. No.

Section

Types of Loss

Set Off against Income

Can be carried forward (subject to Notes 4 and 8) for

In same Assessment Year

In subsequent Assessment Year

71/72

Business or Profession (other than speculation or depreciation)

Any income under any head except Salaries

Business Income only

8 years

32(2)

Unabsorbed Depreciation

No restriction for of years number

Speculation Loss

Speculation profit only

4 years [8 years up to A.Y. 2005-06]

70/74

Short-term Capital Loss r.w.s. 94(7) in respect units of mutual funds or UTI/ securities & 94(8) in respect units of mutual funds or UTI (Notes 7 & 8)

Any Capital Gain

8 years

70/74

Long-term Capital Loss
(other than equity shares and units of equity oriented mutual fund which are subjected to STT)

Long-term Capital Gain

8 years

71/74

Long-term Capital Loss on equity shares & units of equity oriented mutual fund which are subjected to STT

Not eligible for set off

N.A.

Originally posted by : rajiv

Please clarify. 

I am having short term capital loss on sale of shares of Rs. 10.00 lakhs. SO as per your reply I can adjust STCG on Sale of property of Rs. 15.00 lakhs from STCL on Sale of shares of Rs. 10.00 lakhs. So Net STCG will be Rs. 5.00 lakhs.?????

yes. that is exactly what i meant.

Dear Rajiv,

You need to correct your learnings on set-offs.

In this case, the assessee can set-off both the business loss and short term capital loss from shares against the short term capital gains from sale of property.