Service tax (exemption limit of 10lakhs)

Queries 17348 views 12 replies

One of our client is registered in Service tax as service provider & service receiver... 

My query is whether limit of Rs. 10lakh is separately available. As he is already paying service tax on service provided by him and he has received service this year only... so whether he is required to pay service tax on service received or not.

Priyanka

Replies (12)
service tax has to be paid by service provider after 10 lakh limit. However this limit is not applicable wher service tax has to be provided under reverce charge by service receiver.
service tax has to be paid by service provider after 10 lakh limit. However this limit is not applicable wher service tax has to be paid under reverce charge by service receiver.

Dear Madam

One of our client is service receiver of renting property  my query is i have to calculate the service tax (exemption lemit is1000000) we have to ignore the exemption lemit then we calculate the service tax or not

Serivce tax limit is Rs.10 lakh or 15 lakh

The threshold limit is ten lacs.  The service tax can be collected  when rent bill is raised.  Any municipal tax paid can be deducted while calculating the rent amount for the let-out premises. Only for commercial purpose, service tax is applicable.

rengaraj r.k

Dear Sir 

what is the service tax exeption Limit

Dear Mr Rajendra singh,  Threshold limit means exemption limit.  So, 10 lacs is the exemption for all categories, except brand name holder.

With the introduction of the negative list,  does the threshhold limit of Rs.10 lakhs continues to remain in force or it ceases to continue?

Dear Mr John Silveira,

The exemption limit continues now also.  The rule is slightly changed.  Now the limit of 10 lacs is invoice based and not receipt based.  So, whether you receive the money or not, if you reach 10 lacs, you are liable to be registered under the Act.

if the service provider being a new company, registers itself under service tax right at the beginning of its operation but the limit if Rs.10,00,000/- is not exhausted yet.  Under the circumstances,

(1) how does the company raise its invoices, with or without service tax ?  

(2)Whether the company needs to file monthly return  under the circumstances or it can commence filing monthly return once the limit is breached?  Please clarify.

Sir

If a person has 6lakh receipts from a service exempted under mega notification and another 6lakhs receipt from a taxable service.

How his liability will be determined???

If A Business Carrying the number of services under different categories and Gross Turnover of the Business ( Only Service Related Invoices ) is more than 20,00,000 But its under the Different service Categories ? Every Category has carrying less than 10,00,000 Turnover then we liable to pay the service Tax Or Not as per service tax Rule Thank U G. Vinayak