Run Tally 4.5 on windows XP

15117 views 11 replies
I know most of you out there must be having a problem in running Tally 4.5 in Windows XP. I too had. So one of the immediate solution which came to my mind was to have a dual boot system. But this too had its limitation.

a) I could not use NTFS as file system for any one partition of my hard disk since Windows 98 or earlier only understand FAT32/FAT16 formats.

b) Every time I had to use Tally 4.5, I had to restart the system and boot the system in win98. But now I could not use other application, which could be run under WinXP only.

What could I do? The solution was to have a somekind of Virtual PC running in windows XP. Virtual as we know means '..which acts like real but is not real.'

So my search begin for a Virtual PC software which I could use to run Windows 98 right under windows XP and after search of 4 months I finally got a software. It is "Microsoft Virtual PC 2004". And the best thing is it is totally free now since July 2006 (earlier it was not).

So now I can easily run tally in Win XP. Infact I can even run other softwares which could be run under Windows 98 only. Check the attached screenshots.

I hope CA faternity will immesnsely benefit from this.

Replies (11)
Deepak,

THanks a lot for the Information. It is good to find a person who can share the knowledge gained in four months for the benifit of other professional friends.

Thanks a lot dear, u have solved the problem of many like me.
Where are the attached screenshots. Please let me know. Thank you
Well, Virtual PC is a good solution.

But whats wrong in upgrading to newer versions? Doesnt cost much compared to the cost of computers and other peripherals we are using in our offices.

can u give screen shot so it will usefull

tally 4.5 for windows xp

There is a nice alternate of Tally 4.5 which is made by Busy Infotech running in window xp without any problem.

Tally 4.5 is not yet free but this BUSY Dos is totally  free to use.

BTW it has same functionality and UI that of Tally 4.5 but with additional functionality like Invocie customising, inventory etc.

BUSY Dos is most Populer alongwith Tally and now they beat Tally with launching BUSYWIN for windows whereas TAlly 9 is still a DOS based program run under window XP.

BTW BUSYWIN has also given its free version to explore its powerful features.

BUSY FAN.

i had downloaded virtual pc but cannaot run Tally 4.5 kindly assist/guide me in running Tally 4.5 in windows Xp

thanks for usefull information

Busywin....pls give a lonk for Free BusySoft.........

my mail id is 

vaishnav9871 @ gmail.com