Reasons for doin CA ??

Komal (16 Points)

10 May 2007  
Reasons to do a CA include:

> 1. Dad owns a CA firm, it makes sense to join the business
>
> 2. Professional qualification chahiye. CA is a good one -- nothing
> stops you from doing an MBA later.
>
> 3. You genuinely like accounting. It's what you've always dreamt of
> doing in life.
>
> As few 17 or 18 year olds know what they want in life, Reason 3 is
> rare. But Reasons 1 and 2 are perfectly valid.
>
> If lucky, you may find that you enjoy the subjects and become an
> excellent CA. If not so lucky but smart, you may not like what you
> study but still become a competent CA. If neither smart nor lucky,
> you will probably remain a frustrated 'trying to clear my CA'
> student.
>
> The perception is that the CA success story is 'all or nothing'.
> Either you clear the exam -- rather, three different exams -- or
> you get left behind. Whereas, in the case of an MBA, while only a
> few make it to the top 10 institutes, there is always the hope of
> the next 10 and then the next 10.
>
> However, things are changing on that front. In a recent interview, T
> N Manoharan, president of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of
> India, stated the pass percentage has risen dramatically in recent
> years. 'Gone are the days when the pass rates were 2-3 percent. Now,
> if you consider both groups at the final level, these are at 15-20
> percent. In a single group, it is often as high as 30 percent,' he
> said.
>
> What's more, 83 percent of the 7,445 candidates who passed out in
> 2005 were absorbed by industries. Out of a total number of 1.3 lakh
> CA professionals, 10,000 are settled abroad. Of the rest, 55,000
> were employed in industries, and the rest were practitioners. ICAI
> believes there is a requirement of 40,000 more CA professionals in
> the country.
>
> In fact, it does appear that ICAI has woken up and taken the
> challenge posed by the 'lure of the MBA' seriously. A new syllabus
> will be launched this year, and the duration of the course condensed
> to four years.
>
> That's still two years more than an MBA though!
>
> ICAI is also undertaking marketing itself aggressively. For example,
> by screening films at schools 'to sensitise teachers, students and
> parents to the importance of the profession.'
>
> Most importantly, ICAI has started offering 'campus placements.' Not
> only is this great for newly certified students, it's a good revenue
> earner for the institute. Like premier MBA institutes, ICAI charges
> recruiting companies -- Rs 1.2 lakhs is the going rate for 'Day 1'
> at the Mumbai and New Delhi centres.
>
> Top recruiters during the February/ March interviews were Progeon
> (which offered 163 jobs), Gecis (160), Tata Sons (68) and Reliance
> Industries (63). The average salary would be Rs 4 lakhs while the
> highest salary offered was Rs 12 lakh per annum.
>
> But it didn't make headline news, unlike IIM salaries...
> The basic problem
>
> ICAI can shout itself hoarse over the great new career opportunities
> a CA degree brings -- and rightly so. But it is impossible to fight
> the MBA. At best, it can hope to attract some of the very bright
> students who become CAs first and MBAs later.
>
> The very nature of the profession -- exacting, detailed and dealing
> with numbers will put off many students. And there is nothing that
> anyone can do about it.
>
> That is all I meant when I made my original statement -- that CA can
> be a boring profession. That does not imply that all those who
> become CAs are either bored -- or boring.
>
> But just like you can't become a doctor if you faint at the sight of
> blood, you can't become a CA if you are unable to make sense of
> numbers. Realising this simple truth would save many young people a
> lot of wasted time and effort.
>
> Karan Johar believes 'shaadi ki buniyaad sirf beinteha mohabbat honi
> chahiye� ' I believe the same applies to one's career. The only
> difference is, if you love your profession as much as Abhishek loves
> Rani Mukerji in KANK, it will lovingly embrace you in return!