Need help in balance sheet

Tax queries 230 views 4 replies

Dear Sir/Madam,

Last year my CA had filed my return and had shown rs 2 lakhs in " government and other securities - unquoted " in my ITR-4 form , even though i didnt have any gold or shares; and there was rs 2 lakhs in my trading account, but he showed only rs. 1 lakh. As i was completely new to taxation at that time, i agreed to what my CA said. Now this year when i made my balance sheet, there is an additional rs 1 lakh in my balance sheet. Can anyone please guide me as to how am i supposed to adjust this additional amount. Any help will be highly appreciated.

Thank you.

Replies (4)

There can never be a difference in balance sheet. Give more details for the solution.

my CA did the above mentioned adjustments to adjust all the differences and errors in my previous year's balance sheet, but now this year there is an additional rs 1 lakh in my account, it is from my trading account which my CA had not considered in the previous year. Here are the details

INVESTMENT                              50000
GOLD                             150000

CURRENT ASSETS  
TRADING ACCOUNT MARGIN REFUND DUE                            100000
BANK BALANCES ( SCHEDULE 2)                             348725
CASH BALANCES                              25000

now in the above mentioned balance sheet, everything tallied and it was accepted by IT dept also..

but in reality... i dont have any gold or shares and my trading account had rs 2 lakhs and not 1 lakh,

so now how to adjust it in this year....this is how it should have been... 

INVESTMENT                              0
GOLD                              0

CURRENT ASSETS  
TRADING ACCOUNT MARGIN REFUND DUE                              200000
BANK BALANCES ( SCHEDULE 2)                             348725
CASH BALANCES                              25000

please guide me how to adjust this error 

thank you.

Just file the return with correct figures for the current year.

You need to justify the mistake only in case your return comes under assessment. That time, you need to prove that it was a mistake.

No other option to rectify.

Thank you Sir for your reply.