IS THIS GIFT TAXABLE OF NOT?

CA Dhiraj Ramchandani (CA, M. com) (10823 Points)
Replied 05 November 2009

Trinath... thats wat i'm saying...

If both of them sisters, and one recieves gift from another.., then its exempted...

Agar wo Mr. A ki sister se gift legi, to b exempted hai...

Replied 05 November 2009

1.A person can take gift from the following relatives without any limit, where there would be no Income Tax u/s 56(2)(vi) of the Income Tax Act, 1961. 2.But one should avoid giving gift to spouse or son's wife because in that case clubbing provisions under section 64 will be attracted i.e. income from the gifted amount will be added in the income of donor
Coverage in case of married male i.e. husband Coverage in case of married female i.e. wife Coverage in case of unmarried male and unmarried female
1. Wife i.e. patni 1. Husband i.e. pati 1. NA
2. Brother i.e. bhai 2. Brother i.e. bhai 2. Brother i.e. bhai
3. Brother's wife i.e. bhabi 3. Brother's wife i.e. bhabi 3. Brother's wife i.e. bhabi
4. Sister i.e. bahan 4. Sister i.e. bahan 4. Sister i.e. bahan
5. Sister's husband i.e. Jija 5. Sister's husband i.e. Jija 5. Sister's husband i.e. Jija
6. Wife's brother i.e. sala 6. Husband's brother i.e. daver or jeth 6. NA
7. Wife's brother's wife i.e. salaj 7. Husband's      brother's wife i.e.   daverani   ot jethani 7. NA
8. Wife's sister i.e. Sali 8. Husband's   sister   i.e. nanand 8. NA
9. Wife's sister's husband i.e. sadhu 9. Husband's         sister's husband i.e. nanandoi 9. NA
10. Mother's    brother    i.e. mama 10. Mother's   brother   i.e. mama 10. Mother's brother i.e. mama
11. Mother's brother's wife i.e. mami 11. Mother's brother's wife i.e. mami 11. Mother's brother's wife i.e. mami
12. Mother's sister i.e. mousi 12. Mother's     sister    i.e. mousi 12. Mother's sister i.e. mousi
13. Mother's sister's husband i.e. mousa 13. Mother's           sister's husband i.e. mousa 13. Mother's sister's husband i.e. maousa
14. Father's    brother    i.e. chacha or tau 14. Father's    brother    i.e. chacha or tau 14. Father's brother i.e. chacha or tau
15. Father's brother's wife i.e. chachi or tai 15. Father's brother's wife i.e. chachi or tai 15. Father's brother's wife i.e. chachi or tai
16. Father's sister i.e. bua 16. Father's sister i.e. bua 16. Father's sister i.e. bua
17. Father's sister's husband i.e. fufa 17. Father's sister's husband i.e. fufa 17. Father's sister's husband i.e. fufa
18. Father i.e. papa 18. Father i.e. papa 18. Father i.e. papa
19. Mother i.e. maa 19. Mother i.e. maa 19. Mother i.e. maa
20. Grand father i.e. dadu 20. Grand father i.e. dadu 20. Grand father i.e. dadu
21. Grand mother i.e dadi 21. Grand mother i.e dadi 21. Grand mother i.e dadi
22. Great grand father i.e. par dada 22. Great grand father i.e. par dada 22. Great grand father i.e. par dada
23. Great grand mother i.e. par dadi 23. Great grand mother i.e. par dadi 23. Great grand mother i.e. par dadi
24. Son i.e. beta 24. Son i.e. beta 24. NA
25. Son's wife i.e. bahu 25. Son's wifer i.e. bahu 25. NA
26. Daughter i.e. beti 26. Daughter i.e. beti 26. NA
27. Daughter's husband i.e. jawai 27. Daughter's husband i.e. jawai 27. NA
28. Grand son i.e. pota 28. Grand son i.e. pota 28. NA
29. Grand son's wife i.e. pot bahu 29. Grand son's wife i.e. pot bahu 29. NA
30. Grand daughter i.e. poti 30. Grand daughter i.e. poti 30. NA
31. Grand           daughter's husband i.e. jawai 31. Grand          daughter's husband i.e. jawai 31. NA
32. Wife's Father i.e. sasur 32. Husband's   Father   i.e. sasur 32. NA
33. Wife's Mother i.e. sas 33. Husband's Mother i.e. sas 33. NA
34. Wife's Grand father i.e. dadsra 34. Husband's Grand father i.e. dadsra 34. NA
35. Wife's Grand mother i.e dadas 35. Husband's          Grand mother i.e dadas 35. NA
36. Wife's Great grand father i.e. bada dadsra 36. Husband's Great grand father i.e. bada dadsra 36. NA
37. Wife's    Great    grand mother i.e. badi dadas 37. Husband's Great grand mother i.e. badi dadas 37. NA

Replied 05 November 2009

I hope this above list will make all relations and the taxation on gifts from them clear

Sunil (Trader) (2611 Points)
Replied 05 November 2009

The first wife will have to gift to her husband first. Then husband can gift that amount to second wife.

Replied 05 November 2009

Originally posted by :Sunil
" The first wife will have to gift to her husband first. Then husband can gift that amount to second wife. "

Thanx for this post SUNIL, as it generated a more doubt in my mind...

As such, hindus can't marry two women at one time, they can't have two wives "LEGALLY"...

So, when according to u, first wife gifts Mr. A,  ant then Mr. A gifts to his second wife........ Won't TAX AUTHORITY object of having two wives?? Or like ILLEGAL INCOME, Tax authority will just focus on taxation and not legality??

Replied 05 November 2009

" The first wife will have to gift to her husband first. Then husband can gift that amount to second wife. "

As such, hindus can't marry two women at one time, they can't have two wives "LEGALLY"...

So, when according to u, first wife gifts Mr. A,  ant then Mr. A gifts to his second wife........ Won't TAX AUTHORITY object of having two wives?? Or like ILLEGAL INCOME, Tax authority will just focus on taxation and not legality??

Yes the discussion has become very interesting. I think the Assessing Officer will not go into legallity of the issue and the gift will stand exempted.

Also its not necessary that Mr. A is hindu.....

Replied 05 November 2009

Hi POONAM.., I know Mr. A is not necessarily a hindu only... But i was asking generally...

And u sure, assessing officer won't mind.., atleast on the grounds of jealousy.., "meri ek uski do kyun" like...

Well in that case its Assessing Officer's discretion. What can I comment......

Replied 05 November 2009

hmmm...

Jatin Singh Negi (Country Analyst ) (505 Points)
Replied 05 November 2009

It will be taxable we do not have to see from our own side that the two are sisters or not or the two marriages are legal or not.

CA Balram Sharma (CA) (839 Points)
Replied 05 November 2009

Originally posted by :D н ! я σ √

1.A person can take gift from the following relatives without any limit, where there would be no Income Tax u/s 56(2)(vi) of the Income Tax Act, 1961. 2.But one should avoid giving gift to spouse or son's wife because in that case clubbing provisions under section 64 will be attracted i.e. income from the gifted amount will be added in the income of donor

Coverage in case of married male i.e. husband
Coverage in case of married female i.e. wife
Coverage in case of unmarried male and unmarried female

1. Wife i.e. patni
1. Husband i.e. pati
1. NA

2. Brother i.e. bhai

3. Brother's wife i.e. bhabi

4. Sister i.e. bahan

5. Sister's husband i.e. Jija

6. Wife's brother i.e. sala
6. Husband's brother i.e. daver or jeth
6. NA

7. Wife's brother's wife i.e. salaj
7. Husband's      brother's wife i.e.   daverani   ot jethani
7. NA

8. Wife's sister i.e. Sali
8. Husband's   sister   i.e. nanand
8. NA

9. Wife's sister's husband i.e. sadhu
9. Husband's         sister's husband i.e. nanandoi
9. NA

10. Mother's    brother    i.e. mama
10. Mother's   brother   i.e. mama
10. Mother's brother i.e. mama

11. Mother's brother's wife i.e. mami

12. Mother's sister i.e. mousi
12. Mother's     sister    i.e. mousi
12. Mother's sister i.e. mousi

13. Mother's sister's husband i.e. mousa
13. Mother's           sister's husband i.e. mousa
13. Mother's sister's husband i.e. maousa

14. Father's    brother    i.e. chacha or tau
14. Father's brother i.e. chacha or tau

15. Father's brother's wife i.e. chachi or tai
15. Father's brother's wife i.e. chachi or tai

16. Father's sister i.e. bua

17. Father's sister's husband i.e. fufa

18. Father i.e. papa

19. Mother i.e. maa

20. Grand father i.e. dadu

21. Grand mother i.e dadi

22. Great grand father i.e. par dada

23. Great grand mother i.e. par dadi

24. Son i.e. beta
24. NA

25. Son's wife i.e. bahu
25. Son's wifer i.e. bahu
25. NA

26. Daughter i.e. beti
26. NA

27. Daughter's husband i.e. jawai
27. NA

28. Grand son i.e. pota
28. NA

29. Grand son's wife i.e. pot bahu
29. NA

30. Grand daughter i.e. poti
30. NA

31. Grand           daughter's husband i.e. jawai
31. Grand          daughter's husband i.e. jawai
31. NA

32. Wife's Father i.e. sasur
32. Husband's   Father   i.e. sasur
32. NA

33. Wife's Mother i.e. sas
33. Husband's Mother i.e. sas
33. NA

34. Wife's Grand father i.e. dadsra
34. Husband's Grand father i.e. dadsra
34. NA

35. Wife's Grand mother i.e dadas
35. Husband's          Grand mother i.e dadas
35. NA

36. Wife's Great grand father i.e. bada dadsra
36. Husband's Great grand father i.e. bada dadsra
36. NA

37. Wife's    Great    grand mother i.e. badi dadas
37. Husband's Great grand mother i.e. badi dadas
37. NA

Thanks ,

Really good

Replied 05 November 2009

FRINDS ONE THING I WOULD LIKE TO ADD,

IS CLUBBING PROVISION  WILL APPLICABLE TO MRS. X OF NOT, IF MRS. "Y"

INVEST THE SAME AMOUNT

hrithvik raj (article/ca final ) (161 Points)
Replied 05 November 2009

as from the meaning of 'relative' the 2 spouses Mrs X  and Mrs Y are not at all relatives. therfore gift is taxable as it exceeds the exemption limit of Rs50000.

Replied 05 November 2009

Originally posted by :D н ! я σ √

The first wife will have to gift to her husband first. Then husband can gift that amount to second wife.

REALLY GOOD POINT DHIRON