interpretation of sec 44AB of income tax Act

189 views 7 replies
44AB. Every person,—

[a] carrying on business shall, if his total sales, turnover or gross receipts, as the case may be, in business exceed or exceeds one crore rupees in any previous year; or

the question as why there is requirement to use word EXCEEDS what it means and is it not sufficient to use word EXCEED only
Replies (7)

For Sales & Gross receipts, being plural...... exceed is used.......

but in case of turnover being singular, grammatically exceeds is necessary.....

I agreed with Dhirajlal ji
ok thanks sir , i also having same opinion but was not sure hence asked , i have one more question of the same section

44AB. 50Every person,—

[a] carrying on business shall, if his total sales, turnover or gross receipts, as the case may be, in business exceed or exceeds one crore rupees in any previous year; or

why there is requirement to use word any previous year , only previous year is not sufficient ?

Which previous year??!!!!!!!!!!!

(analyse.... you will get answer)

44AB. 50Every person,—

[a] carrying on business shall, if his total sales, turnover or gross receipts, as the case may be, in business exceed or exceeds one crore rupees in ANY previous year; or

Previous year as defined under act , what is requirement to use the word here ANY

The act/rule is not for particular (PY) year (till it is amended, it remains same, that too particular part gets amended), so the basic rule remains same and gets applied to any previous year..... be it 2018-19, or 2019-20, like......

ok thank you sir 😁😁