gta ..please help

749 views 19 replies

Please anyone give an opinion:

I have a furnace in my factory premises and to take the coal from my factory store to furnace ,i hire a service of a material supplier,who in his carriage carrier transports the coal to the requierd destination.

NOW FEW PEOPLE GAVE ME THE VIEW TO DEDUCT SERVICE TAX GTA ON THE SAME.

IM OF THE VIEW THT IT IS NOT AN AGENCY SERVICE THT IM AVAILING.ITS A "GOOD TRANSPORT OWNER" WHO IS GIVING ME SERVICE. FURTHER THERE IS NO CONSIGNMENT NOTE NOR A SEPARATE CONSIGNEE OR A CONSIGNER.

BUT AS PER

(50b)

“goods transport agency” means any  person who provides service in relation to transport of goods by road and issues consignment note, by whatever name called

kINDLY give ur opinion ASAP

Replies (19)

Hi, Before i get into your subject, what is up with such a long post with nothing to fill in? and about your question i didnot understand. you are hiring someone  for carriage service right? that means he is going t bill you, so service tax will be charged by him and not you(this is what my logic said to me) so i didnot understand why you  being a service reciever being worried about charging service tax on service provider.. so please rephrase your question, and make clear what your doubt is....

Friend im talking about service tax on GTA. sec 50(b)

im not talking about charging service tax. in case of GTA ill have to pay .

Kindly go through the concept of service tax on GTA.

check out my other posts on same concept of gta ,for understanding.

Thanks for ur time and concern.

Hey Bhushan.......I also posted the same query da oder day...In our case the organisation claims dat they wont be liable to collect service tax under Rule 2 (1d) on da ground dat the Transporters whose service dey are availing are not GTA rather they are Goods Transport operators (owners)....soo m really confused :(Any idea as to how do i verify from the bill whether dey are tour operators or transport agencies.. and why are the tour owners exempt when they are also providing services of transporting the goods

Moreover on our first query named ' heyyyy opinion needed.. urgent- pls reply too don't just view' one there was a link posted by C. Balaji which says that even an operator of goods carriage issuing a consignment note to the service reeiver would render the service receiver liable to service tax (Last line under the heading  DEFINITIONS) ....I hope dis proves to be helpful to u.... :)n mee tooo :( DOOO let me know wat the conclusion finally isss..... ;) byyeee

hi,good morning...u toh vanished only for so many days...anyways...i have found a circular which will clear it all...i shall send u the same. in some time

hey bhushan....good morning......yaaa...plzzz do send da circular to meee.....M really in need of da same :( :( Thank youuuuuuuu........ :)

ya im searching.wil mail it to u post lunch...

sorry yaar i couldn find it...i only found tht in an article ,which said,govts intention ws to tax the service providers. n the agents, and the gto's had a lobby of there own and they opposed it a lot.

But all this is not in any circular or notification. 

if  u availing the service of gta then pay the service tax on the same ,n no matter whose liable to bare the freight ,the one who pays the freight will have to pay service tax then and there.

" The ultimate liability of bearing the freight is not imp. the one who pays freight will also have to pay service tax to govt." then later on he may get the freight or tax reimbursed from the other party as per there agreement.

Itsss okkk yaar :) Thanks for finding....Byeee

by the way... urin final or PCC..?? hw wzzzzz the result like...? If u dnt mind

Hi........ i am in ca final. i just cleared my pcc 3 days back :)

ok ...well congrats....n ur from which place or firm?

Heyy Bhushan ........ull come to know where i work  very soon ......... ;) ;)

if u in mumbai..iwnted ..info of few firms.. if u can find out..it can be gr8.

Sorry ...... But m not from bombay......Rather ive never been to Bombay till today so cant help you on dis... :(