Deduction under via

416 views 5 replies

I have received money from PPF of Rs 3,50,000/- which is exempt u/s 10. I have STCG on sale of share of Rs 11Lac. I have paid Rs 1,00,000/- as interest on house property. Now i want to know whether I can claim this 1 lac deduction against STCG? Though chapter VI deduction is not available against STCG earned u/s 111A, but I can say that i have paid house loan interest from exempt income that i have received from PPF and there is nothing mention in the act regarding denial of deduction under VIA if it is made from exempt income.

Your views are required as soon as possible.

Thanks & Regards

Replies (5)

Hi Vap,

Interest on House Property Loan is claimed u/s 234(b). Hence, income u/h house property is to be computed considering the nature of property i.e vacant/let out/ self occupied. Accordingly, if it comes out to be a loss u/h house property, such loss can be set off with STCG u/s 71(1)

CA Shivani Mittal

Ohh I m sorry. Instead of principal I used word interest. So my question is whether I will get 100000 deduction for home loan principal that I have paid?

Ok, i'l just clarify my understading:

STCG u/s 111A - Rs. 11 lacs & Deduction under chapter VI-A (Housing loan repayment) - Rs 1 lakh

Accordingly,

Deduction under chapter VI-A of Rs. 1 lakh cannot be adjusted with STCG u/s 111A as per Sec 111A(2). But excess of threshold limit over other income can be adjusted with STCG u/s 111A as per proviso to Sec 111A(1). Which means in case you don't have any other income, the threshold limit of Rs. 2,50,000/- can be adjusted to STCG u/s 111A which means Total Income will be Rs 8.5 lakhs (Rs 11 lacs - 2.5 lacs).

CA Shivani Mittal

Agree with Shivani

For STCG that are covered under Section 111A (equity and equity funds), there is no relief under Section 80C to 80U.

Tax on short term capital gains is levied at a flat rate of 15% under Section 111A.