CA Shailesh Kumar Bhagat's Expert Profile

Queries Replied : 2325

+ View Full Profile

About me

What kinds of questions I can and can't answer?
    Accounts : Accounting in power sector, Construction accounting, Works accounting. Tax : Income tax- " Business /Profession", TDS, Transfer pricing. VAT : Any question ralates to VAT. Service Tax : Construction & Industrial Services.

My area of expertise
    Accounts & tax

My experience in the area (years):
    15 Year

Organizations I belong to:
    Prsent : NTPC LTD ( Power Sector)

Publications or writing which has appeared :
    No

Educational credentials:
    Bcom ( Hon's) , CA, CWA

Award & Honors:
    various Awards at organisation levels

• Sandeep Jadhav says :
    Dear Sir, I know the rate of taxes i.e register dealer 2% & unregistered dealer 4% but if iam registered in karnataka or other state the what % of tds deducted in Maharashtra contratee

• VINAYAK says : thanx
    Dear Shailesh sir, thanks for your reply. i need the information that, whether in following cases 1) actual information i need is- my friend is a real estate developer. he purchases land from farmers and convert them int NA land & develop them as layout. 2)some times what happen, he makes an agreement with farmers, without purchasing the land i.e. by General power of Attorney. he converts as N.A. land & develop as layout.

• Ina Jain says : tds matter
    for what sections of TDS there may be possibility that for expenditure on personal nature is there any possibility to deduct TDS or not?

• Ashish Kamthania says : want to be a CA......
    Respected Sir, my name is ashish kamthania, i am 35 year old (my dob is 25 nov.1974), i want to join the path for CA. now i am working as income tax, sales tax advocate from last 3 years. my qualifications are BSC, BED, PGDCA, MBA, LLB, LLM. now i want to be CA. Sir, please suggest me how can i got my DREAM JOB (CA)..... thanks & regards, ashish kamthania (ADVOCATE) email : kamthaniya@gmail.com mobile : 9258010105

• ahtrahdis says : ITR not filed for 2007-08
    Dear Mr Bhagat, Thank you for your reply to my query under subject "ITR not filed for 2007-08", which I had posted on October 28. I will appreciate it if you could give your opinion on this case: the employee received a letter from the IT dept a couple of months back saying she had spent over 4 lakhs on her credit card and that she was required to furnish proof of submission of ITR. The employee, a UK national with a PIO status, had not filed IT returns as she was not aware that filing of IT returns is mandatory even after TDS has been deducted by the employer. When another letter from the IT dept arrived, she contacted a person doing a CA course for help in filing returns for 2007-08, 2008-09 and 2009-10. The employee gave the CA “power of attorney” to facilitate filing of returns. The CA got back saying ITR for 2008-09 and 2009-10 had been filed but the IT dept had sent a notice under Sec 148 for 2007-08. The penalty, he said, would be over Rs 4 lakhs - Rs 2 lakhs as the tax liability for that yr after TDS was deducted by the company + Rs 2 lakhs as penalty + interest for the subsequent months till Oct this year. Here’s the reason why the employee did not file ITR for 2007-08 and 2008-09 - 1) The employee, a UK national with a PIO status, was not aware that filing of IT returns is mandatory in India even after TDS has been deducted by the employer. 2) The employee had worked for 7 months in 2007-08 before quitting her job to return home (london) after the birth of her son. Aslo, she was in no state to pursue IT issues as she was staying alone in India. Her income for the 7 months was around Rs 8 lakhs and a TDS of around Rs 66,000 had been deducted. She has been told by the CA that the IT dept officer dealing with her account is ready to close the case for a huge sum (bribe). Kindly advice as to what should be done and whether the reasons mentioned above (1 & 2) can be used to get the Sec 148 NOTICE recalled.

Comment Please

Other CCI Experts

CA R SEETHARAMAN
Queries Replied : 41559

CMA Ramesh Krishnan
Queries Replied : 26053

CMA. CS. Sanjay Gupta
Queries Replied : 24107